.

30% off food when you book on Dimmi

Exclusive to Dimmi30% off food when you book at La Camera Southgate at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

30% off food

Dinner Mon-Wed
Lunch Mon-Wed

2330 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
2330 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Tue, 9 Jan 2018

(9)
Great service, loved the food and the wine and nice to sit by the river.
Hi Robyn, Thanks for your kind words. If you love a good drop check out our Jazz and Shiraz night on our What's on section of our website. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Wed, 10 Jan 2018

dined on Sat, 6 Jan 2018

(9)
Been numerous times and food always good. Need to refurbish inside as very dark.

dined on Fri, 5 Jan 2018

(10)
The service at La Camera was great. The calamari salad was divine, the pomegranate cocktails were very refreshing.

dined on Thu, 4 Jan 2018

(8)
This is in a great location so suitable for all occasions. We used as a pre-theatre opportunity. Everything was efficient. Food was good - nothing to rave about but certainly fair value.
Christine Brookman

dined on Thu, 4 Jan 2018

(10)
Our waiter soyjen made our lunch special.

dined on Wed, 3 Jan 2018

(9)
We are regulars at La Camera and the fact we keep on going back is testament to what we think. Great place to dine if going to the theatre as State Theatre and Art Centre etc are just around the corner. Southgate area has a nice vibe to it and you get nice views along the Yarra and over parts of the City of Melbourne.

dined on Sun, 31 Dec 2017

(8)
Great night, staff very good despite being very busy. Starters and mains arrived minutes apart, starters excellent.
Anne Walker

dined on Sat, 30 Dec 2017

(9)
We had a collection of share plates and enjoyed the food and drinks very much. However, had to leave when we needed to talk together because of the noise level.

dined on Fri, 29 Dec 2017

(10)
La Camera is consistently excellent. The staff are very attentive and at hand with menus, water, menu advice etc. We had a pre-show meal and our waiter was aware of this and paced our meal accordingly. The tables are well spaced and so, although the restaurant was full, we never felt crowded in. This is my 'go-to' Southbank restaurant.

dined on Fri, 29 Dec 2017

(9)
Another great meal at La Camera. Wonderful family run italian restaurant: good menu with variety, fab location in Southbank.. definitely worth a visit..
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Specials

Cooking Class- How to make Tiramisu

Get ready to impress family and friends with a dish we guarantee will win your next MKR-style dinner party! It's no secret that La Camera Southgate has one of Melbourne's best Tiramisu recipes, but for some that secret will soon be no more... Join us for a hands-on experience in Italian cooking as we teach you to make our authentic Venetian-style Tiramisu. Take notes (or film it on your smartphone) then get your hands dirty bringing together the ultimate combination of coffee, mascarpone, alcohol and Savoiardi – the perfect recipe for a fun night! We’ll start the night off with music from 6.30pm with the fabulous Bella Ciao Trio and their authentic take on some of Italy's most popular songs. Cooking class commences at 7.30pm. Attendees must purchase a main meal and drink in order to participate in this fabulous evening.
When
30 Apr 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Anzac Day Breakfast

La Camera is opening their doors for the annual Anzac Day breakfast. It's a very special day on the La Camera event calendar as we catch up with diggers who have been attending our breakfast and lunch service, year in, year out. We look forward to catching up with them again this year. La Camera Southgate is perfectly situated, only minutes from the Shrine, in the Southgate building, adjacent to The Arts Centre and Hamer Hall. It's also a great prelude to the traditional clash between Essendon and Collingwood at the MCG. It's always advisable to book your balcony and window seats in advance as these seats sell out fast.
When
25 Apr 2018
Wed 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Opera Night

For 13 years people have flocked to our innovative event nights on the last Monday of every month. The opera nights have continued to grow from strength to strength with every night being a sell out. In our last night pictured above our Three Tenors topped off another fabulous night of entertainment. Our performers love to get the crowd involved and it was a great send off to Cossimo Ciccone who moved back to Rome to perform and judge opera. This month, Samantha Du Rennes, Suzanne Shakespeare, Lino Del Giudice and Richard Thomas combine to give you the ultimate wine and dine experience. Patrons enjoy a 3 course set menu at a sensational value at only $70 per person. For more information about other innovative nights, including Jazz and Shiraz, Cooking Shows, Italian Yum Cha and Italian theme nights.
When
28 May 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
When
27 Aug 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5