.

2090 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
2090 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

(9)
La Camera is a great place to eat before or after theatre. This time it was after the Van Goph exhibition. It was terrific to have such good staff attention from the lovely Sofia and the charming Filippo. We had great fillet steaks and Sofia recommended the best wine. Just loved it.
Hi Janet, Thanks so much for taking the time for such a lovely review, The wait staff will be very happy. We are very popular for pre theatre as we have a fantastic system that ensure patrons get to their shows on time, very happy and with a full tummy :). Kind regards, Paul Scidone La Camera Southgate
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Wed, 5 Jul 2017

dined on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

(8)
Great service from both cashier and waitress! Appreciated the fact that we were allowed an early seating, although our booking was for half an hour later.

dined on Sat, 24 Jun 2017

(10)
We all enjoyed our meals. The antipasti platter was superb. The octopus salad absolutely delicious. We also had a salami pizzz and the parmigiana. All tasty.
Dylan

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(10)
Very nice restaurant with great views

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(8)
Would be nice if they can add on Sherry to their list of drinks.

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(8)
An alternative before going to Art Center. Lovely Italian food!!

dined on Thu, 22 Jun 2017

(9)
The staff have always been very helpful in assisting with seating us according to surrounding noise and temperature. La C has always had good food and pleasant wine list.
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Specials

The New Aperitivo

The New Aperitivo The Aperitivo is part of the Italian culture as pasta and pizza. Basically it’s their version of happy hour, but with food. Normally it involves a standard pre-dinner drink with some free nibbles and with the recent influx of Italians over the last few years, it is becoming very popular on the Melbourne Food scene. At La Camera Southgate we have our own version of The Aperitivo available every day between 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Choose from a selection of platters with a huge variety of mouth-watering antipasti and receive a complimentary aperitif….Aperol Spritz, Campari, Vermouth, Negroni, Sbagliato and Prosecco. The balcony is always the best postion to enjoy your aperitivo which overlooks The Yarra River and has breathtaking views of the Melbourne’s beautiful city. Choose from a selection of classic tapas style hot plates, cured meats and roasted veggies. It’s the perfect way to start your evening before your main meal, as a pre or post theatre meal or just to catch up with friends. Prices vary from $15 -$20 depending upon your selection. * not available NYE and Christmas Day
When
21 Feb 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Lunch Specials

When it comes to quality, value, location and great service, La Camera Southgate still leads the way with our express business lunch deals. The offer is available Monday to Thursday between 11:15 am and 4pm 1 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20.00 Choice of one main course with a glass of our red or white wine or post mix soft drinks. 2 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$30.00 Choice of one antipasto and one main course with a glass of house wine or post mix soft drinks. *Please note some additions will incur extra charge **not to be used with any other offer
When
21 Feb 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 11:15 AM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Opera NIght - The Three Tenors

Our Three Tenors event has always been the highlight of our Community Night Calendar, but after our Sopranos Night earlier this year, I think the boys have finally got some stiff competition. As you can tell by our profile pic, I don't think the boys have a worry in the world. Apart from being amazing performers they also have a wicked sense of humour and we can't wait to see what they have installed for the last event of the year. (Thanks for being great sports!!) After twelve years of some sensational Opera Nights, the event keeps growing from strength to strength. Seats are very limited so reserve your table today.
When
27 Nov 2017
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

New Year's Eve - Pre Theatre

Always a great start to the New Year's Eve festivities especially if you are off to a show or having an early dinner before the Kids fireworks. The night is a la carte with a 15% NYE surcharge. Tables are required back at 7.15 for our set menu dinner at 8pm.
When
31 Dec 2017
Sun 4:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Christmas Day Luncheon

Take in the flavours of Italy this Christmas Day lunch and indulge in a 4 course set menu at La Camera Southgate. It's always the most sought after day on the booking calendar as loyal patrons have been flocking to this dining experience for the last 17 years. In the heart of Southbank, overlooking the Yarra and with spectacular views of the city, La Camera is an idyllic Christmas lunch destination. Reserve you balcony or window seats now as these are always in high demand. Set Menus: $115 outside $95 inside $40 for children 12 yrs & under
When
25 Dec 2017
Mon 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

New Year's Eve

Celebrate New Year's Eve in style, with arguably the best vantage point in Melbourne, and see the amazing fireworks display. Overlooking the Yarra and with breathtaking views of the city, La Camera can assure our loyal customers of an enjoyable and memorable night. As always our chefs prepare a delectable 4 course set menu. Each year they go to great lengths to out do the previous year's menu. Set Menu: $180 Al Fresco Dining $150 Inside $40 Kids 12 & Under Balcony and window seats are highly sought after so reserve a table asap. Normally sold out before December. All menus on line.
When
31 Dec 2017
Sun 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

30% Off Your Food Bill

Enjoy 30% off your food bill when you dine with us up to a maximum discount of $30. Drinks will remain at full price. Offer not available in conjunction with any other special, promotion or coupon.
When
02 Jan 2018 - 10 Nov 2018
Mon, Tue 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5