.

30% off food when you book on Dimmi

Exclusive to Dimmi30% off food when you book at La Camera Southgate at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

30% off food

Dinner Mon-Wed
Lunch Mon-Wed

2238 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.5
2238 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Sat, 18 Nov 2017

(9)
Quick service and friendly staff
Hi Julie, Thanks very much for taking the time to give us a some feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Sun, 19 Nov 2017

dined on Thu, 16 Nov 2017

(9)
Got a table near the river with view attentive service without being in our faces food fabulous seafood pumpkin handmade gnocchi out of this world! Not cheap this fish alone $38 but worth every cent hubby had mushroom risotto good but no where near the gnocchi tasty Italy Pinot Grigio and desserts to die for cannoli must have will visit again next year and take our friends one of the best meals we have had in Melbourne!! 👏👏👏😋😋😋

dined on Wed, 1 Nov 2017

(9)
Great food and very quick service especially as we were heading to the theatre. Atmosphere was lively and busy.
Hi Cindy, Thanks for your great feedback. We have an exceptional pre-theatre system that enables everyone to have a great meal and get to their show s on time. Please feel free to download our new La Camera app (wowapps) and become a VIP member. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Tue, 7 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 27 Oct 2017

(8)
Good pre theatre venue, enjoyed our Risotto alla Camera.
Hi Elizabeth, Apart form the Tiramisu the La camera Risotto is the only dish that has not changes in 17 years. Please feel free to download our new La Camera app (wowapps) and become a VIP member. Great choice!! Cheers Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Tue, 7 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 27 Oct 2017

(9)
Thoroughly enjoyed the meals and excellent service

dined on Mon, 23 Oct 2017

(9)
Always great at La Camera so we keep returning
Thanks David. If you haven't done so already, please feel free to download our new La Camera app (wowapps) and become a VIP member. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager Always a pleasure.
Joe Cannatelli, La Camera Southgate responded on Tue, 7 Nov 2017

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(9)
Great views, good location perfect for pre theatre.
HI Denyse, Although I have worked here for 13 years, I still find it hard to believe how well the chefs manage the pre-theatre service. Sometimes, when we get everyone walking in at the same time, they manage to prepare over 200 dishes in 1 and a half hours. Great effort by both the kitchen and floor staff. Cheers Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 16 Oct 2017

dined on Mon, 2 Oct 2017

(10)
Another great community night. Keep up the good work.

dined on Mon, 2 Oct 2017

(9)
The community night with the Italian trio was great - the food and service are always first class
Hi David, Must be déjà vu. I am sure or just responded to your review...lol. So disappointed I missed the Italian Night. Who ever thought about this idea must be a clever chap:). Cheers Paul
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

The Three Tenors

If you love opera and musical theatre then pencil in this night for 2018. Join Richard Thomas, Lino Del Giudice and Cossimo Ciccone in a most enjoyable, uplifting and entertaining night. The Three Tenors events have been on our community night calendar for the last 13 years so you can be guaranteed a most memorable evening. It's always a sell out so it is recommended that you book early. As you can tell by the video our entertainers have a fabulous time and our patrons feed off their energy. It will also be Cossimo Ciccone's last performance before he moves to Italy to perform and judge opera so we are so grateful to have him onboard. It's great value at $70 per person which includes a 3 course set menu. **Due to the popularity of our evening all bookings require credit card details
When
26 Feb 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

JAZZ AND SHIRAZ NIGHT- Free Wine Tasting

By far the most social event on the Community Night Calendar and also the most polular with all three events selling out in 2017. This is what you get when you combine a **free wine tasting night, a little mingling, some some soothing and very cool jazz, the idyllic location and sumptuous Italian fare? It's a hell of a night and one reason why so many patrons have attended our Southbank Community Nights over the last 12 years. If you fancy a drop or two, then this night is for you. Over a dozen new wines (reds and whites to taste from and an opportunity to buy your favourite glass or bottle on the night. Our resident saxophonist, Clinton Fry, will be back again to play all your favourite Jazz classics and some special requests. La Camera has become synonymous with innovative, enjoyable dining events which has seen patrons flock to La Camera on the last Monday of every month (except December and January). Whether it be a Cooking Class, Opera Night, Live Music or Italian Yum Cha, one can be assured of an excellent night's entertainment and sumptuous food. For more information call 9699 3600. ** wine tasting free with the purchase of at least one main meal per person and credit card details are required to confirm your booking.
When
26 Mar 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5