.

30% off food when you book on Dimmi

Exclusive to Dimmi30% off food when you book at La Camera Southgate at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

30% off food

Dinner Mon-Wed
Lunch Mon-Wed

2330 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
2330 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)
Sandra Heath

dined on Sat, 17 Feb 2018

(9)
We had a lovely meal and we were seated at a table with great views. Three of the group were served their meals and the fourth meal was served about 10 minutes later.
Hi Sandra, Thanks for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the night. Excuse the meals coming out at different times. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 19 Feb 2018

dined on Sat, 17 Feb 2018

(8)
Were willing to set us a table for 7 of us outside, once the manager got involved.

dined on Mon, 12 Feb 2018

(9)
Good food and quick service. Had to initially ask for drinks and wasn’t offered more after i had finished my first drink. Otherwise, quick meal delivery and delicious food enjoyed by all.
Hi Emma, Thanks for your feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed our night. Being a Moday night there is no excuse for staff not being attentive and not offering another drink. I will use this feedback in our pep talk today as a little inspiration. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Thu, 15 Feb 2018

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(9)
The usual, excellent, pre-theatre dinner never disappointed.

dined on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

(8)
Taken to table immediately. Waitress ascertained that we were going to the theatre and ensured that we had our meals in plenty of time so that we could enjoy them leisurely before heading off to the Arts Centre.
Hi Laurel, Thanks for your feedback. We are a very popular pre-theatre destination and we have a great system to ensure people get to their shows on time. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Thu, 15 Feb 2018

dined on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

(8)
The food is good! The service is a bit slow then.

dined on Tue, 6 Feb 2018

(8)
Your kind and thoughtful service is very much appreciated. Thank you
Chow Sian Ho

dined on Mon, 5 Feb 2018

(9)
Steak was a tad bit cooked for a medium

dined on Sat, 3 Feb 2018

(8)
Always a good spot for a quality quick bite before a show at the Arts Centre
Hi Allen, Thanks for your feedback. We have a great system that ensures people get to their shows on time. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Sun, 4 Feb 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Cooking Class- How to make Tiramisu

Get ready to impress family and friends with a dish we guarantee will win your next MKR-style dinner party! It's no secret that La Camera Southgate has one of Melbourne's best Tiramisu recipes, but for some that secret will soon be no more... Join us for a hands-on experience in Italian cooking as we teach you to make our authentic Venetian-style Tiramisu. Take notes (or film it on your smartphone) then get your hands dirty bringing together the ultimate combination of coffee, mascarpone, alcohol and Savoiardi – the perfect recipe for a fun night! We’ll start the night off with music from 6.30pm with the fabulous Bella Ciao Trio and their authentic take on some of Italy's most popular songs. Cooking class commences at 7.30pm. Attendees must purchase a main meal and drink in order to participate in this fabulous evening.
When
30 Apr 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Anzac Day Breakfast

La Camera is opening their doors for the annual Anzac Day breakfast. It's a very special day on the La Camera event calendar as we catch up with diggers who have been attending our breakfast and lunch service, year in, year out. We look forward to catching up with them again this year. La Camera Southgate is perfectly situated, only minutes from the Shrine, in the Southgate building, adjacent to The Arts Centre and Hamer Hall. It's also a great prelude to the traditional clash between Essendon and Collingwood at the MCG. It's always advisable to book your balcony and window seats in advance as these seats sell out fast.
When
25 Apr 2018
Wed 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Opera Night

For 13 years people have flocked to our innovative event nights on the last Monday of every month. The opera nights have continued to grow from strength to strength with every night being a sell out. In our last night pictured above our Three Tenors topped off another fabulous night of entertainment. Our performers love to get the crowd involved and it was a great send off to Cossimo Ciccone who moved back to Rome to perform and judge opera. This month, Samantha Du Rennes, Suzanne Shakespeare, Lino Del Giudice and Richard Thomas combine to give you the ultimate wine and dine experience. Patrons enjoy a 3 course set menu at a sensational value at only $70 per person. For more information about other innovative nights, including Jazz and Shiraz, Cooking Shows, Italian Yum Cha and Italian theme nights.
When
28 May 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
When
27 Aug 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5