.

2059 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.5
2059 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Sat, 15 Jul 2017

(9)
Great pre-theatre meal - with fast efficient service
Hi David, Thanks so much for your great feedback. Always a pleasure to respond to our most loyal and regular customers. See you at the Italian Yum Cha night. Kind regards, Paul Scidone
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 24 Jul 2017

dined on Fri, 14 Jul 2017

(9)
We've been away for a while but the service and food here is still great

dined on Wed, 12 Jul 2017

(7)
Good wine list reasonably priced. Grilled Calamari is excellent. Pizza tasty and large. Only letdown is Linguine Pescatore: far too much oil which ruins the flavour - a pity.
Barry

dined on Tue, 11 Jul 2017

(8)
Great food and service. Always a convenient dinner prior to a show at the arts centre.

dined on Wed, 5 Jul 2017

(9)
We loved the food. Would gladly come back again.
David Britton

dined on Sat, 1 Jul 2017

(10)
We would certainly go back .The service was excellent

dined on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

(9)
La Camera is a great place to eat before or after theatre. This time it was after the Van Goph exhibition. It was terrific to have such good staff attention from the lovely Sofia and the charming Filippo. We had great fillet steaks and Sofia recommended the best wine. Just loved it.
Hi Janet, Thanks so much for taking the time for such a lovely review, The wait staff will be very happy. We are very popular for pre theatre as we have a fantastic system that ensure patrons get to their shows on time, very happy and with a full tummy :). Kind regards, Paul Scidone La Camera Southgate
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Wed, 5 Jul 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

The New Aperitivo

The New Aperitivo The Aperitivo is part of the Italian culture as pasta and pizza. Basically it’s their version of happy hour, but with food. Normally it involves a standard pre-dinner drink with some free nibbles and with the recent influx of Italians over the last few years, it is becoming very popular on the Melbourne Food scene. At La Camera Southgate we have our own version of The Aperitivo available every day between 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Choose from a selection of platters with a huge variety of mouth-watering antipasti and receive a complimentary aperitif….Aperol Spritz, Campari, Vermouth, Negroni, Sbagliato and Prosecco. The balcony is always the best postion to enjoy your aperitivo which overlooks The Yarra River and has breathtaking views of the Melbourne’s beautiful city. Choose from a selection of classic tapas style hot plates, cured meats and roasted veggies. It’s the perfect way to start your evening before your main meal, as a pre or post theatre meal or just to catch up with friends. Prices vary from $15 -$20 depending upon your selection. * not available NYE and Christmas Day
When
21 Feb 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Lunch Specials

When it comes to quality, value, location and great service, La Camera Southgate still leads the way with our express business lunch deals. The offer is available Monday to Thursday between 11:15 am and 4pm 1 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20.00 Choice of one main course with a glass of our red or white wine or post mix soft drinks. 2 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$30.00 Choice of one antipasto and one main course with a glass of house wine or post mix soft drinks. *Please note some additions will incur extra charge **not to be used with any other offer
When
21 Feb 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 11:15 AM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

30% Off Food BIll

Discount applies to food only, no drinks or alcoholic beverages. Offer not valid in conjunction with any other special, promotion or voucher. Maximum discount $30
When
01 Aug 2017 - 23 Feb 2019
Mon, Tue 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Jazz and Shiraz - Wine Tasting Event

What do get when you combine a free wine tasting night, some soothing and very cool jazz music, the idyllic location and sumptuous Italian fare? One hell of a night and one reason why so many patrons have attended our Southbank Community Night over the last 11 years. If you fancy a drop or two, then this night is for you. Over a dozen new wines to taste from and an opportunity to buy your favourite glass or bottle on the night. Our resident saxophonist, Clinton Fry, will be back again to play all your favourite Jazz classics and some special requests. La Camera has become synonymous with innovative, enjoyable dining events which has seen patrons flock to La Camera on the last Monday of every month (except December and January). Whether it be a Cooking Class, Opera Night, Live Music or Italian Yum Cha, one can be assured of an excellent night's entertainment and sumptuous food. Our first two Jazz and Shiraz events earlier this year were a complete sell out so reserve your table today. For more information call 9699 3600.
When
30 Oct 2017
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Dine Pink Luncheon

Join us for A Dine Pink Luncheon to raise money for The Breast Cancer Network Australia. On the day 30% of the total bill will go towards the foundation.(maximum $30 donation per table) Where something pink on the day and we will increase the total of the donation to a maximum of $90.
When
27 Oct 2017
Fri 11:15 AM - 4:00 AM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Opera NIght - The Three Tenors

Our Three Tenors event has always been the highlight of our Community Night Calendar, but after our Sopranos Night earlier this year, I think the boys have finally got some stiff competition. As you can tell by our profile pic, I don't think the boys have a worry in the world. Apart from being amazing performers they also have a wicked sense of humour and we can't wait to see what they have installed for the last event of the year. (Thanks for being great sports!!) After twelve years of some sensational Opera Nights, the event keeps growing from strength to strength. Seats are very limited so reserve your table today.
When
27 Nov 2017
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5