.

1975 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
1975 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)
Cass

dined on Fri, 26 May 2017

(7)
Great meal, thanks!
Louize

dined on Wed, 24 May 2017

(8)
Good restaurant with good views. Nice balcony seating.

dined on Tue, 23 May 2017

(9)
Fantastic service from every staff member. We were greeted warmly by multiple happy faces. Lovely food and wine, with a great range of wine choices and prices. A great spot on the river.
Hi Keren, Thanks so much for your lovely feedback on Dimmi and the personal one you sent us via email. We appreciate your time and welook forward to your next visit. Most kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Wed, 24 May 2017

dined on Mon, 22 May 2017

(9)
Good Value and quick Service
Hi Jack, Thanks for your feedback. We are the go to place when it come to pre-theatre dining in Southbank. A few minutes walking distance from Hamer Hall/ Arts Centre, a pre-theatre system second to none, friendly efficient staff and great value for money meals. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Wed, 24 May 2017

dined on Sun, 21 May 2017

(9)
Dine regularly at La Camera - last night with family and after the Kangaroos defeated Melbourne at the MCG we all had a lovely meal that was enjoyed thoroughly. The best recommendation I can give is that I keep on going back to La Camera and have over the years recommended many of our family friends and also business associates to go! We will be back again many times in the future!

dined on Sat, 20 May 2017

(9)
Fast and friendly service, excellent food, generous portions

dined on Sat, 20 May 2017

(9)
This is real Italian pizza!
Hi Sue, So many thanks for your greet feedback. As opposed to many of the Neapolitan style pizzas in Melbourne, our Roman style pizza has a unique base and a little crispier than most. A little recipe we borrowed from Ponte Milvio, Rome in 2004. Kindest regards Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Sun, 21 May 2017

dined on Sat, 13 May 2017

(8)
Very enjoyable for pre theatre dining
Simon Humphries

dined on Sat, 13 May 2017

(9)
Service and food was amazing. We will be back.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

The New Aperitivo

The New Aperitivo The Aperitivo is part of the Italian culture as pasta and pizza. Basically it’s their version of happy hour, but with food. Normally it involves a standard pre-dinner drink with some free nibbles and with the recent influx of Italians over the last few years, it is becoming very popular on the Melbourne Food scene. At La Camera Southgate we have our own version of The Aperitivo available every day between 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Choose from a selection of platters with a huge variety of mouth-watering antipasti and receive a complimentary aperitif….Aperol Spritz, Campari, Vermouth, Negroni, Sbagliato and Prosecco. The balcony is always the best postion to enjoy your aperitivo which overlooks The Yarra River and has breathtaking views of the Melbourne’s beautiful city. Choose from a selection of classic tapas style hot plates, cured meats and roasted veggies. It’s the perfect way to start your evening before your main meal, as a pre or post theatre meal or just to catch up with friends. Prices vary from $15 -$20 depending upon your selection. * not available NYE and Christmas Day
When
21 Feb 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Lunch Specials

When it comes to quality, value, location and great service, La Camera Southgate still leads the way with our express business lunch deals. The offer is available Monday to Thursday between 11:15 am and 4pm 1 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20.00 Choice of one main course with a glass of our red or white wine or post mix soft drinks. 2 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$30.00 Choice of one antipasto and one main course with a glass of house wine or post mix soft drinks. *Please note some additions will incur extra charge **not to be used with any other offer
When
21 Feb 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 11:15 AM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

30% Off Food BIll

Discount applies to food only, no drinks or alcoholic beverages. Offer not valid in conjunction with any other special, promotion or voucher. Maximum discount $30
When
01 Aug 2017 - 23 Feb 2019
Mon, Tue 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Jazz and Shiraz - Wine Tasting Event

What do get when you combine a free wine tasting night, some soothing and very cool jazz music, the idyllic location and sumptuous Italian fare? One hell of a night and one reason why so many patrons have attended our Southbank Community Night over the last 11 years La Camera has become synonymous with innovative, enjoyable dining events which has seen patrons flock to La Camera on the last Monday of every month (except December and January). Whether it be a Cooking Class, Opera Night, Live Music or Italian Yum Cha, one can be assured of an excellent night's entertainemnt and sumptuous food. Our first two Jazz and Shiraz events earlier this year were a complete sell out so reserve your table today. For more information call 9699 3600. #jazz #livemusic #shiraz #freewinetasting #melbourneevent
When
30 Oct 2017
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day Theme

Are you ready for a special treat for Father’s Day? Chosen by our followers on Instagram and Facebook in a recent competition, we have a photo booth with various props for your entertainment (breakfast/lunch only). Booth will be available from 10.30am to 2pm. There will also be extra surprises and giveaways on the day/night that will assure plenty of laughs and a memorable Father’s Day. All dads will receive a $20 drinks voucher that they can use at La Camera or next door at our sister venue, “Waterslide Bar”. Booking Essential. NB: A la carte dining is available all day however, set menus apply for bookings of 15 or more px.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5