.

1794 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
1794 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.3)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Sat, 14 Jan 2017

(9)
It was the first time we had a table inside, and ew did find it quite noisy and hard to hear each other. But, the food and service are great.
Hi Margaret, Thanks for your feedback. You can't beat the balcony! Unfortunately when we are busy it can get a little noisy inside especially the way the acoustics are inside. Some love the atmosphere and some prefer a little quieter. Cheers, Paul Scidone
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 16 Jan 2017

dined on Tue, 10 Jan 2017

(9)
Great place to lunch during the holiday period. Very mellow atmosphere, pleasant soothing views.
Barry

dined on Sun, 8 Jan 2017

(9)
Great food and a perfect location for Arts Centre pre-theatre dinner.

dined on Sun, 8 Jan 2017

(10)
Really lovely meal. Great service. Thank you

dined on Sat, 24 Dec 2016

(8)
Quick friendly service. The food was enjoyed by everyone(7 of us )

dined on Wed, 21 Dec 2016

(8)
Quick service and good food but very noisy out on the patio
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

The New Aperitivo

The New Aperitivo The Aperitivo is part of the Italian culture as pasta and pizza. Basically it’s their version of happy hour, but with food. Normally it involves a standard pre-dinner drink with some free nibbles and with the recent influx of Italians over the last few years, it is becoming very popular on the Melbourne Food scene. At La Camera Southgate we have our own version of The Aperitivo available every day between 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Choose from a selection of platters with a huge variety of mouth-watering antipasti and receive a complimentary aperitif….Aperol Spritz, Campari, Vermouth, Negroni, Sbagliato and Prosecco. The balcony is always the best postion to enjoy your aperitivo which overlooks The Yarra River and has breathtaking views of the Melbourne’s beautiful city. Choose from a selection of classic tapas style hot plates, cured meats and roasted veggies. It’s the perfect way to start your evening before your main meal, as a pre or post theatre meal or just to catch up with friends. Prices vary from $15 -$20 depending upon your selection. * not available NYE and Christmas Day
When
21 Feb 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Lunch Specials

When it comes to quality, value, location and great service, La Camera Southgate still leads the way with our express business lunch deals. The offer is available Monday to Thursday between 11:15 am and 4pm 1 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20.00 Choice of one main course with a glass of our red or white wine or post mix soft drinks. 2 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$30.00 Choice of one antipasto and one main course with a glass of house wine or post mix soft drinks. *Please note some additions will incur extra charge **not to be used with any other offer
When
21 Feb 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 11:15 AM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

30% Off Food BIll

Discount applies to food only, no drinks or alcoholic beverages. Not valid with another offer. Maximum discount $30
When
23 Feb 2017 - 23 Feb 2019
Mon, Tue 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Opera Spectacular

After 12 years of delighting La Camera Southgate patrons, our very popular "Opera Night" is back in May led by the most talented and very eccentric Tamara Vasilevitsky (Concert pianist). Judging by our Three Tenors night in March it seems as though The Opera nights will be a hit again in 2017. Tamara will lead the way with her beautiful tunes and throughout the night you can be assued that her mum will join her in what can be only explained as a breathtaking experience. Throughout the night our Opera singers will partake in a number of sets in a close an intimate performance where the patrons get involved with their swinging glasses and waving handkerchiefs. If you love your Opera, music and the most entertaining of evenings, then this night is for you. $60 3 course set menu Bookings close 25th of May.
When
29 May 2017
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Mother's Day

We all know mum has a special place in our hearts so on Mother's Day we give back a little love, a few extra hugs and say thanks for everything they do. So make sure there's no cooking for mum or nonna and treat her to an awesome day. At La Camera every care is taken to see that mum has the most enjoyable day of the year. We add a little sparkling wine and a special present. Reserve your table asap: $70 3 course set menu for balcony seating A la carte menu available inside or optional $65 set menu.** Kids menu available. **set menu applies for bookings of 10 or more
When
14 May 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

Takeaway
Yes

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5