.

1893 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
1893 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.3)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Sun, 16 Apr 2017

(8)
Service was very good , def will come back
Cheryl

dined on Sat, 15 Apr 2017

(7)
Our waitress was great, she was pleasant and very helpful. Food was good, and we will be back again.

dined on Sat, 15 Apr 2017

(9)
Highly recommend this restaurant. The food was excellent the atmosphere was a buzz and the location and view of the city and river fantastic. Well done to the team at La Camera

dined on Sun, 9 Apr 2017

(8)
Food was good but expect southgate prices - was a bit disappointed that I couldn't have a special in a main size - and that they had run out of linguini - strange.... overall it was a lovely lunch with my daughter and we could come again as a family for sure

dined on Sat, 8 Apr 2017

(9)
Some of the best calamari we have ever had and Frederica was excellent helping our daughter selecting her dessert.
Antony

dined on Thu, 6 Apr 2017

(8)
Nice restaurant with great express lunch specials. Friendly staff and fast service.

dined on Wed, 5 Apr 2017

(10)
A really lovely meal with friends, overlooking the Yarra. Thank you

dined on Thu, 30 Mar 2017

(8)
We were held up in heavy traffic, but even though we were 20 minutes late the staff made sure we were fed in time to attend the theatre.
Hi Laurel, Thanks very much for your feedback. Always willing to help especially if you are off to a show. kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 3 Apr 2017
Barry

dined on Thu, 30 Mar 2017

(9)
Always a great spot for some Italian food prior to a show at the Arts Centre.
Hi Barry, Over the years La Camera has become very popular for pre theatre. We have a fabulous system that ensures people get to their shows on time. Thanks for yopur time and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 3 Apr 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

The New Aperitivo

The New Aperitivo The Aperitivo is part of the Italian culture as pasta and pizza. Basically it’s their version of happy hour, but with food. Normally it involves a standard pre-dinner drink with some free nibbles and with the recent influx of Italians over the last few years, it is becoming very popular on the Melbourne Food scene. At La Camera Southgate we have our own version of The Aperitivo available every day between 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Choose from a selection of platters with a huge variety of mouth-watering antipasti and receive a complimentary aperitif….Aperol Spritz, Campari, Vermouth, Negroni, Sbagliato and Prosecco. The balcony is always the best postion to enjoy your aperitivo which overlooks The Yarra River and has breathtaking views of the Melbourne’s beautiful city. Choose from a selection of classic tapas style hot plates, cured meats and roasted veggies. It’s the perfect way to start your evening before your main meal, as a pre or post theatre meal or just to catch up with friends. Prices vary from $15 -$20 depending upon your selection. * not available NYE and Christmas Day
When
21 Feb 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Lunch Specials

When it comes to quality, value, location and great service, La Camera Southgate still leads the way with our express business lunch deals. The offer is available Monday to Thursday between 11:15 am and 4pm 1 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20.00 Choice of one main course with a glass of our red or white wine or post mix soft drinks. 2 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$30.00 Choice of one antipasto and one main course with a glass of house wine or post mix soft drinks. *Please note some additions will incur extra charge **not to be used with any other offer
When
21 Feb 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 11:15 AM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

30% Off Food BIll

Discount applies to food only, no drinks or alcoholic beverages. Offer not valid in conjunction with any other special, promotion or voucher. Maximum discount $30
When
23 Feb 2017 - 23 Feb 2019
Mon, Tue 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

Takeaway
Yes

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5