.

2114 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
2114 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)
Sally Squires

dined on Mon, 2 Oct 2017

(10)
Very noisy but fab food and great service

dined on Tue, 26 Sep 2017

(8)
GOOD RIVER VIEW TO ENJOY THE SUN. GOOD FOOD TO SHARE. NICE PLACE TO CATCH UP WITH FRIENDS.
Hi Wendy, And so lovely to have guests like yourself! Thanks so much for your kind words. Cheers Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 16 Oct 2017

dined on Mon, 25 Sep 2017

(9)
A great place after an early theatre session - food and service always good

dined on Thu, 21 Sep 2017

(9)
Fantastic staff always veey warm and they never buf you dueimg your meal. Always opt for thisnplace for dates amd special occasions. Never let down

dined on Wed, 13 Sep 2017

(9)
Our waiter was fantastic. They have a deal that if you download their app and show them when you arrive you get special deals. However at the end of the meal I had to show them I had the app on my phone again and they took my phone away to show three manager. I didn't feel comfortable handing my unlocked phone to a stranger to have it walked around the restaurant. Other than this, I loved it. I go to this restaurant whenever I'm at southbank.
Hi Glennis, Sorry about the confusion as the app is new to us, but thanks so much for the feedback as we will mention this at our pep talks. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Sat, 16 Sep 2017

dined on Sat, 9 Sep 2017

(9)
Our table was under the covered veranda which was a lovely spot overlooking the Yarra River. Even though it was a very cold night, it was cosy and warm thanks to the gas heaters positioned along the wall. The service was great, as was the food. We had a Garlic and Herb Pizza, the Linguine Alla Pescatora, and the twice cooked Pork Belly, plus a couple of sweets which were all delicious. Will definitely be back again next time we are in Southbank.

dined on Fri, 8 Sep 2017

(9)
Best food. Bruschetta was the best we've had in a long time. Loved the pizza and pasta dishes.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

The New Aperitivo

The New Aperitivo The Aperitivo is part of the Italian culture as pasta and pizza. Basically it’s their version of happy hour, but with food. Normally it involves a standard pre-dinner drink with some free nibbles and with the recent influx of Italians over the last few years, it is becoming very popular on the Melbourne Food scene. At La Camera Southgate we have our own version of The Aperitivo available every day between 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Choose from a selection of platters with a huge variety of mouth-watering antipasti and receive a complimentary aperitif….Aperol Spritz, Campari, Vermouth, Negroni, Sbagliato and Prosecco. The balcony is always the best postion to enjoy your aperitivo which overlooks The Yarra River and has breathtaking views of the Melbourne’s beautiful city. Choose from a selection of classic tapas style hot plates, cured meats and roasted veggies. It’s the perfect way to start your evening before your main meal, as a pre or post theatre meal or just to catch up with friends. Prices vary from $15 -$20 depending upon your selection. * not available NYE and Christmas Day
When
21 Feb 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

New Year's Eve - Pre Theatre

Always a great start to the New Year's Eve festivities especially if you are off to a show or having an early dinner before the Kids fireworks. The night is a la carte with a 15% NYE surcharge. Tables are required back at 7.15 for our set menu dinner at 8pm.
When
31 Dec 2017
Sun 4:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Christmas Day Luncheon

Take in the flavours of Italy this Christmas Day lunch and indulge in a 4 course set menu at La Camera Southgate. It's always the most sought after day on the booking calendar as loyal patrons have been flocking to this dining experience for the last 17 years. In the heart of Southbank, overlooking the Yarra and with spectacular views of the city, La Camera is an idyllic Christmas lunch destination. Reserve you balcony or window seats now as these are always in high demand. Set Menus: $115 outside $95 inside $40 for children 12 yrs & under
When
25 Dec 2017
Mon 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

New Year's Eve

Celebrate New Year's Eve in style, with arguably the best vantage point in Melbourne, and see the amazing fireworks display. Overlooking the Yarra and with breathtaking views of the city, La Camera can assure our loyal customers of an enjoyable and memorable night. As always our chefs prepare a delectable 4 course set menu. Each year they go to great lengths to out do the previous year's menu. Set Menu: $180 Al Fresco Dining $150 Inside $40 Kids 12 & Under Balcony and window seats are highly sought after so reserve a table asap. Normally sold out before December. All menus on line.
When
31 Dec 2017
Sun 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

30% Off Your Food Bill

Enjoy 30% off your food bill when you dine with us up to a maximum discount of $30. Drinks will remain at full price. Offer not available in conjunction with any other special, promotion or coupon.
When
02 Jan 2018 - 10 Nov 2018
Mon, Tue 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5