.

30% off food when you book on Dimmi

Exclusive to Dimmi30% off food when you book at La Camera Southgate at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

30% off food

Dinner Mon-Wed
Lunch Mon-Wed

2238 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.5
2238 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.2)
Betty

dined on Sun, 11 Feb 2018

(9)
Excellent venue for good food before going to theatre or shopping!

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(10)
This restaurant never disappoints - again a lovely meal so delicious. Service was also good.
Ross

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(7)
Great pre theatre venue

dined on Fri, 9 Feb 2018

(4)
We had entrees and mains. Our entrees were nice, especially the wagu sausage. However, our mains were very disappointing. My husband ordered a lamb dish which was so salty he did not enjoy it and didn't eat all of it. I ordered a pasta special which was supposed to have crispy prosciutto, rocket and a couple of other things. The pasta was quite gluggy and the sauce was all at the bottom. The dish was primarily pasta with very little sauce and I did not eat it. It was about $30 and certainly not worth half that.
Hi Betsy, Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience. I have spoken to the waitress and duty manager on the night and they were aware of the problem. They did offer to make another meal but I can understand you did not want to make any fuss. I know we offered drinks on the house but unfortunately, a bad judgment call was made and we should have taken your meal off the bill. I will call you to discuss. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Joe Cannatelli, La Camera Southgate responded on Thu, 15 Feb 2018

dined on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

(8)
Good service, good location and good views

dined on Tue, 6 Feb 2018

(6)
I ordered the risotto which was way over cooked and very lumpy, fortunately it did have some flavour. Our waitress was inattentive and idily walked by our table several times without clearing away our finshied plates. Finally another waitress that was attending another area of the restaurant walked by and cleared our table for us.
Hi Rosy, Thanks very much for your feedback. Apologies for the lack of attention yesterday. Unfortunately, your waitress was a little ill yesterday and not her usual self and as a consequence, off today. Hope to see you soon. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Joe Cannatelli, La Camera Southgate responded on Wed, 7 Feb 2018
Rosemary

dined on Mon, 5 Feb 2018

(10)
Enjoying the new items on the menu

dined on Sun, 4 Feb 2018

(9)
We enjoyed Aperitivo with entertainment on a Sunday afternoon. Most enjoyable!
Hi Diane, Thanks for your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed the event. it was our first Sunday event and the boys from The Bella Ciao Trio made it most enjoyable. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Sun, 4 Feb 2018

dined on Sat, 3 Feb 2018

(9)
Service was great, It was a bit hot,loud and stuffy, but we were served promptly in order to make our theatre show.

dined on Thu, 1 Feb 2018

(9)
As per usual good Italian food
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

The Three Tenors

If you love opera and musical theatre then pencil in this night for 2018. Join Richard Thomas, Lino Del Giudice and Cossimo Ciccone in a most enjoyable, uplifting and entertaining night. The Three Tenors events have been on our community night calendar for the last 13 years so you can be guaranteed a most memorable evening. It's always a sell out so it is recommended that you book early. As you can tell by the video our entertainers have a fabulous time and our patrons feed off their energy. It will also be Cossimo Ciccone's last performance before he moves to Italy to perform and judge opera so we are so grateful to have him onboard. It's great value at $70 per person which includes a 3 course set menu. **Due to the popularity of our evening all bookings require credit card details
When
26 Feb 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

JAZZ AND SHIRAZ NIGHT- Free Wine Tasting

By far the most social event on the Community Night Calendar and also the most polular with all three events selling out in 2017. This is what you get when you combine a **free wine tasting night, a little mingling, some some soothing and very cool jazz, the idyllic location and sumptuous Italian fare? It's a hell of a night and one reason why so many patrons have attended our Southbank Community Nights over the last 12 years. If you fancy a drop or two, then this night is for you. Over a dozen new wines (reds and whites to taste from and an opportunity to buy your favourite glass or bottle on the night. Our resident saxophonist, Clinton Fry, will be back again to play all your favourite Jazz classics and some special requests. La Camera has become synonymous with innovative, enjoyable dining events which has seen patrons flock to La Camera on the last Monday of every month (except December and January). Whether it be a Cooking Class, Opera Night, Live Music or Italian Yum Cha, one can be assured of an excellent night's entertainment and sumptuous food. For more information call 9699 3600. ** wine tasting free with the purchase of at least one main meal per person and credit card details are required to confirm your booking.
When
26 Mar 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5