.

30% off food when you book on Dimmi

Exclusive to Dimmi30% off food when you book at La Camera Southgate at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

30% off food

Dinner Mon-Wed
Lunch Mon-Wed

2326 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
2326 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Thu, 16 Nov 2017

(9)
Got a table near the river with view attentive service without being in our faces food fabulous seafood pumpkin handmade gnocchi out of this world! Not cheap this fish alone $38 but worth every cent hubby had mushroom risotto good but no where near the gnocchi tasty Italy Pinot Grigio and desserts to die for cannoli must have will visit again next year and take our friends one of the best meals we have had in Melbourne!! 👏👏👏😋😋😋

dined on Wed, 1 Nov 2017

(9)
Great food and very quick service especially as we were heading to the theatre. Atmosphere was lively and busy.
Hi Cindy, Thanks for your great feedback. We have an exceptional pre-theatre system that enables everyone to have a great meal and get to their show s on time. Please feel free to download our new La Camera app (wowapps) and become a VIP member. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Tue, 7 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 27 Oct 2017

(8)
Good pre theatre venue, enjoyed our Risotto alla Camera.
Hi Elizabeth, Apart form the Tiramisu the La camera Risotto is the only dish that has not changes in 17 years. Please feel free to download our new La Camera app (wowapps) and become a VIP member. Great choice!! Cheers Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Tue, 7 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 27 Oct 2017

(9)
Thoroughly enjoyed the meals and excellent service

dined on Mon, 23 Oct 2017

(9)
Always great at La Camera so we keep returning
Thanks David. If you haven't done so already, please feel free to download our new La Camera app (wowapps) and become a VIP member. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager Always a pleasure.
Joe Cannatelli, La Camera Southgate responded on Tue, 7 Nov 2017
Mandy

dined on Wed, 18 Apr 2018

(10)
Love La Camera. Will return.

dined on Wed, 18 Apr 2018

(6)
Service was great. Size of meals was very small for the price. Gnocchi at $38 was much too small. Everything tasted great but they skimp on size. As well no extras of any kind. No bread, no bits of veg or salad with the meal. Nothing. Lots of other restaurant choices in this area , I think LaCamera will have to improve what they offer at their prices. I wonder if they were skimping with the size of the meals because we did have a DIMMI booking. Not really a bargain then is it. Wont do either again in that case.
Hi and thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the size of your meal. We definitely don't reduce the sizes because it's a Dimmi booking. Unfortunately, you did choose one of a most expensive dishes and that's just due to the quality of the crab meat. If anything we regularly get comments on the large sizes of many of the meals eg. risottos and pizzas. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Thu, 19 Apr 2018
Bianca

dined on Tue, 17 Apr 2018

(9)
Delicious food. Friendly service
Hi Bianca, Thanks so much for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Thu, 19 Apr 2018
Jayne

dined on Mon, 16 Apr 2018

(9)
Staff were really friendly and good variety of food options
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

Cooking Class- How to make Tiramisu

Get ready to impress family and friends with a dish we guarantee will win your next MKR-style dinner party! It's no secret that La Camera Southgate has one of Melbourne's best Tiramisu recipes, but for some that secret will soon be no more... Join us for a hands-on experience in Italian cooking as we teach you to make our authentic Venetian-style Tiramisu. Take notes (or film it on your smartphone) then get your hands dirty bringing together the ultimate combination of coffee, mascarpone, alcohol and Savoiardi – the perfect recipe for a fun night! We’ll start the night off with music from 6.30pm with the fabulous Bella Ciao Trio and their authentic take on some of Italy's most popular songs. Cooking class commences at 7.30pm. Attendees must purchase a main meal and drink in order to participate in this fabulous evening.
When
30 Apr 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Anzac Day Breakfast

La Camera is opening their doors for the annual Anzac Day breakfast. It's a very special day on the La Camera event calendar as we catch up with diggers who have been attending our breakfast and lunch service, year in, year out. We look forward to catching up with them again this year. La Camera Southgate is perfectly situated, only minutes from the Shrine, in the Southgate building, adjacent to The Arts Centre and Hamer Hall. It's also a great prelude to the traditional clash between Essendon and Collingwood at the MCG. It's always advisable to book your balcony and window seats in advance as these seats sell out fast.
When
25 Apr 2018
Wed 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Opera Night

For 13 years people have flocked to our innovative event nights on the last Monday of every month. The opera nights have continued to grow from strength to strength with every night being a sell out. In our last night pictured above our Three Tenors topped off another fabulous night of entertainment. Our performers love to get the crowd involved and it was a great send off to Cossimo Ciccone who moved back to Rome to perform and judge opera. This month, Samantha Du Rennes, Suzanne Shakespeare, Lino Del Giudice and Richard Thomas combine to give you the ultimate wine and dine experience. Patrons enjoy a 3 course set menu at a sensational value at only $70 per person. For more information about other innovative nights, including Jazz and Shiraz, Cooking Shows, Italian Yum Cha and Italian theme nights.
When
28 May 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
When
27 Aug 2018
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5