.

1118 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.2
1118 reviews
Recommended
(8.2)
Food
(8.3)
Service
(8.3)
Value for money
(7.3)
Atmosphere
(7.8)
Portia

dined on Fri, 8 Sep 2017

(10)
Fantastic service and delicious modern Asian food. Tatiana, our waitress was a great help in selecting dishes and sharing information on the meal options. Slightly noisy due to the wooden floors however the food and service definitely rule out this one minor negative factor.

dined on Sat, 2 Sep 2017

(4)
3 floor staff with a total of 14 covers and yet we were still left waiting to be seated and receive our bill. Our entree plates weren't cleared until I had to just as our mains were placed on the table. Lucky the plates were small and perhaps this was why our entrees weren't cleared prior? Entree - Crab Ravoli (x2) was yummy and we were left wanting more. Main - Trio duck was also tasty but felt to be lacking something. Sides - Pototo fries and Brussel sprouts which we also enjoyed. Wine – a little more advice from the wait staff would have been helpful. Desert - Lemon tart with a teaspoon scoup of cream (more cream please) and the pastry left us wondering why? Music - wow... elevator tunes from a decade ago (which is when Hungry Duck was in its glory). Decor - doesn't look like its changed since I was here last (8yrs ago). Shame to think this used to be a hatted restaurant. Next time we will plan ahead and book in earlier to the more popular option around the corner on Albany Street.

dined on Sat, 26 Aug 2017

(10)
Awesome way to celebrate my partner's university graduation. Delicious food & flawless service.

dined on Sat, 26 Aug 2017

(9)
Food was sensational and friendly service

dined on Thu, 24 Aug 2017

(9)
The food here never disappoints.

dined on Thu, 17 Aug 2017

(9)
Excellent service food superb

dined on Sat, 12 Aug 2017

(9)
Great night but felt a bit rushed as they have two sittings. Should be able to relax and take your time. Second sitting should be told they may have to wait when they book. First sitting shouldn't be rushed to free up tables.

dined on Fri, 11 Aug 2017

(10)
We had a lovely evening last night with our neighbors . Food was excellent and the service was excellent. Staff could not do enough for us. I have asked our family from Wollongong to come and join us there one Sunday for lunch. see you again soon. thankyou very much Margaret Bradford. .

dined on Thu, 10 Aug 2017

(10)
Appreciate mid week BYO permitted.
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

About Hungry Duck

South for the winter The gentle rolling hills of Berry are a popular destination for city slickers wanting a bit of green and fresh air – and eateries like Hungry Duck are an equally motivating reason to head south for the winter – or any time of year, for that matter. Hungry Duck is helmed by chef David Campbell whose impressive cooking pedigree includes stints at Wockpool and Billy Kwong. As the name implies, duck features heavily on the menu, with duck three ways (duck spring roll, rare caramelised breast meat and a crisp Szechuan peppered leg) a hit with regulars. Open 6 days for dinner only (no BYO Friday and Saturday), bookings are essential if you want the opportunity to try the Jervis Bay squid chips, crab ravioli, wok-fried saltbush lamb or the Wagyu cheek and tail dumplings. As you can see, the menu is a paean to fresh, local produce cooked in traditional Asian style with a welcome twist. Leave room for dessert, though – you won’t want to miss out on the kaffir and Tahitian lime tart or the warm chocolate fondant with strawberry and lychee sorbet. This cosy diner even has an outdoor area, perfect for summer dining. Best dish: Duck spring rolls

Hungry Duck Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
77
5/5