.

1135 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.3
1135 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.5)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.5)
Atmosphere
(7.8)

dined on Thu, 1 Mar 2018

(10)
We have been to the Hungry Duck four times indulging in the 5 course degustation menu & have not been disappointed. Would & have recommend this restaurant
Fernando San Gil

dined on Sat, 24 Feb 2018

(10)
Very good quality food.probably the best tempura zucchini I’ve ever had. All the other dishes were nicely prepared and very enjoyable
David

dined on Fri, 16 Feb 2018

(8)
Nice atmosphere

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(4)
Quite disappointing: - We had to wait for 30 minutes before we were seated and 60 minutes before we received our complimentary drink. - Food came out after we've waited 75 minutes, which was just small finger food. - Most people were waiting off their meals and one couple next to us left as they weren't served. - We had dessert at 11pm, which is quite late for a week night dinner. - I think that they were completely understaffed or just took too many bookings.

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(6)
Waited for 2 hrs to get the first course.

dined on Sun, 11 Feb 2018

(8)
Only negative - Cappuccino was Luke warm

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(10)
The tempura zucchini flowers... always... soooo amazing!!!

dined on Sun, 28 Jan 2018

(9)
Chefs 5-course menu was great. it was plenty of food. service was good.

dined on Sat, 27 Jan 2018

(6)
I have been to this restaurant during previous visits to Berry and always had a wonderful experience. We were very disappointed this time. The standard of the food has significantly deteriorated and no longer fine dining. The 3 way duck dish was awful. Dry and over cooked. The duck curry was salty to the point of being inedible. At $100 a head, you expect more. Unfortunately we won’t be back. This restaurant is no longer what it used to be.

dined on Wed, 24 Jan 2018

(6)
Asian fusion restaurant- technique on some dishes were great. Portion sizes are small especially when you pay 35 for wagyu shin and only receiving four tiny pieces. Some of the fusion dishes just didn’t work. Sometimes a classic such as Fried rice does not need to change.. Concept of adding chorizo is bizarre.Timeliness of dishes could be better. We waited an hour before entrees came out. Despite this, service was excellent and the place had a good vibes.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Hungry Duck

South for the winter The gentle rolling hills of Berry are a popular destination for city slickers wanting a bit of green and fresh air – and eateries like Hungry Duck are an equally motivating reason to head south for the winter – or any time of year, for that matter. Hungry Duck is helmed by chef David Campbell whose impressive cooking pedigree includes stints at Wockpool and Billy Kwong. As the name implies, duck features heavily on the menu, with duck three ways (duck spring roll, rare caramelised breast meat and a crisp Szechuan peppered leg) a hit with regulars. Open 6 days for dinner only (no BYO Friday and Saturday), bookings are essential if you want the opportunity to try the Jervis Bay squid chips, crab ravioli, wok-fried saltbush lamb or the Wagyu cheek and tail dumplings. As you can see, the menu is a paean to fresh, local produce cooked in traditional Asian style with a welcome twist. Leave room for dessert, though – you won’t want to miss out on the kaffir and Tahitian lime tart or the warm chocolate fondant with strawberry and lychee sorbet. This cosy diner even has an outdoor area, perfect for summer dining. Best dish: Duck spring rolls

Hungry Duck Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
77
5/5