.

1118 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.2
1118 reviews
Recommended
(8.2)
Food
(8.3)
Service
(8.3)
Value for money
(7.3)
Atmosphere
(7.8)

dined on Sun, 1 Apr 2018

(9)
The value is in the quality of the ingredients. Superb seafood and fresh herbs with the sashimi. Even the sparkling water was our favourite. The wait staff were young and personable. Chatty. Very Australian. We enjoyed them a lot.

dined on Sat, 31 Mar 2018

(2)
It was our first and special road trip and birthday dinner as they knew abt it. I called and told them that we had two pups and they said there is an outdoor area where they can Be while we eat. out door area is a carport setup basically with picnic bench and table (tuckshop setup) and close to the toilet. We were there for the 830pm Setup and I wish we could have sat inside as we had poor lighting and mozzies . Food was coming inconsistently with two dishes coming out first, then our matching wine double up, food was extremely salty and when mentioned they said that rock salt was sprinklered on top and we were almost served a curry dish even when we specifically told them that one had a coconut allergy. We returned 1and a half dish back out of our 5 course meal and did not get a replacement dish or compensation . We paid and left like we were never there to them.. that was a crappy unmemorable time spent. They might have been famous before but complacency could have been a factor so perhaps it’s time to review the food and service asap. We will never go there again.

dined on Mon, 26 Mar 2018

(8)
Good food but the decor is boring. The lighting is too bright. Hopefully will renovate to make it look the restaurant in Chippendale.
Jeremy Butterworth

dined on Sun, 18 Mar 2018

(9)
Delicious. Great place for special occasion. $55 Banquet good value for delicious food - takes away the pain of choosing.

dined on Thu, 8 Mar 2018

(9)
Loved the Hungry Duck! Delicious food, attentive staff, well priced & can’t wait to go back

dined on Thu, 1 Mar 2018

(10)
We have been to the Hungry Duck four times indulging in the 5 course degustation menu & have not been disappointed. Would & have recommend this restaurant
Fernando San Gil

dined on Sat, 24 Feb 2018

(10)
Very good quality food.probably the best tempura zucchini I’ve ever had. All the other dishes were nicely prepared and very enjoyable
David

dined on Fri, 16 Feb 2018

(8)
Nice atmosphere

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(4)
Quite disappointing: - We had to wait for 30 minutes before we were seated and 60 minutes before we received our complimentary drink. - Food came out after we've waited 75 minutes, which was just small finger food. - Most people were waiting off their meals and one couple next to us left as they weren't served. - We had dessert at 11pm, which is quite late for a week night dinner. - I think that they were completely understaffed or just took too many bookings.

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(6)
Waited for 2 hrs to get the first course.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Hungry Duck

South for the winter The gentle rolling hills of Berry are a popular destination for city slickers wanting a bit of green and fresh air – and eateries like Hungry Duck are an equally motivating reason to head south for the winter – or any time of year, for that matter. Hungry Duck is helmed by chef David Campbell whose impressive cooking pedigree includes stints at Wockpool and Billy Kwong. As the name implies, duck features heavily on the menu, with duck three ways (duck spring roll, rare caramelised breast meat and a crisp Szechuan peppered leg) a hit with regulars. Open 6 days for dinner only (no BYO Friday and Saturday), bookings are essential if you want the opportunity to try the Jervis Bay squid chips, crab ravioli, wok-fried saltbush lamb or the Wagyu cheek and tail dumplings. As you can see, the menu is a paean to fresh, local produce cooked in traditional Asian style with a welcome twist. Leave room for dessert, though – you won’t want to miss out on the kaffir and Tahitian lime tart or the warm chocolate fondant with strawberry and lychee sorbet. This cosy diner even has an outdoor area, perfect for summer dining. Best dish: Duck spring rolls

Hungry Duck Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
77
5/5