.

1124 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.5
1124 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.6)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.0)

dined on Sun, 12 Mar 2017

(9)
As usual, a wonderful meal and great service. We will definitely be returning!

dined on Fri, 3 Mar 2017

(9)
A delightful experience as always and great to see the crab ravioli is back!

dined on Wed, 1 Mar 2017

(10)
This was the third time back at Hungry Duck & as usual everything was up to standard. The degustation of 5 dishes was absolutely delicious. I would recommend to friends and will be back dining again at the Hungry Duck in the near future. And yes the staff were very attentive and understood the menu.
Nigel Price

dined on Fri, 24 Feb 2017

(9)
Wine list let them down not many notable whites or reds to choose from we chose a Silo Estate 2010 Shiraz and sent it back But the food was sooo good hats off to the Chef our 5 course Degustation was just awesome !

dined on Wed, 22 Feb 2017

(9)
Best place in berry.

dined on Thu, 16 Feb 2017

(10)
Excellent food. Beautiful subtle flavours with great eclectic dishes. Very friendly service. Try the banquet!!
Trevor

dined on Tue, 14 Feb 2017

(8)
Valentine's Day set menu, absolutely wonderful. Plenty of fish for the better half and nice duck for the man of the duo. Good drinkable wines at a reasonable price (we like our reds and better than just the bottle shop stuff). Small but good craft beer selection. Well done Hungry Duck we'll be back sooner than later.
GREG

dined on Sun, 5 Feb 2017

(9)
Wonderful service and excellent food, beautifully presented. The restaurant was a little hot but it was an extremely hot night. We are not from that area but will certainly go back when we are next in Berry. Make sure you book and many people who did not have a reservation were turned away.

dined on Sat, 28 Jan 2017

(2)
The restaurant (website and menu) calls itself "Modern Asian", but it is really Japanese with a one char siu dish what was overcooked or microwaved. When we arrived, we were seated at a table with flies buzzing against the window next to us. Not a great first impression. The menu was confusing. The servings are very small. The dish "broccoli stems and garlic chives" was the most disappointing, it as the off cuts of a broccoli floret. We were served by 6 waiters and waitresses that one evening, there was no one person dedicated to our table, so it made ordering and servicing haphazard. The wine list was disappointing as well, no BYO on Friday and Saturday but not a great selection for diners. We ordered the char siu dish (we lived in Hong Kong for some years and are a fan of char siu), it tasted like it was reheated in the microwave and they ran out so only gave us a half serving. They did not advise us in advance to give us the opportunity to order a substitute. Young employees with little experience, the owner was not present on the night. Young waitress kept on calling us "guys" and started and ended every sentence with "no worries". Unprofessional.
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About Hungry Duck

South for the winter The gentle rolling hills of Berry are a popular destination for city slickers wanting a bit of green and fresh air – and eateries like Hungry Duck are an equally motivating reason to head south for the winter – or any time of year, for that matter. Hungry Duck is helmed by chef David Campbell whose impressive cooking pedigree includes stints at Wockpool and Billy Kwong. As the name implies, duck features heavily on the menu, with duck three ways (duck spring roll, rare caramelised breast meat and a crisp Szechuan peppered leg) a hit with regulars. Open 6 days for dinner only (no BYO Friday and Saturday), bookings are essential if you want the opportunity to try the Jervis Bay squid chips, crab ravioli, wok-fried saltbush lamb or the Wagyu cheek and tail dumplings. As you can see, the menu is a paean to fresh, local produce cooked in traditional Asian style with a welcome twist. Leave room for dessert, though – you won’t want to miss out on the kaffir and Tahitian lime tart or the warm chocolate fondant with strawberry and lychee sorbet. This cosy diner even has an outdoor area, perfect for summer dining. Best dish: Duck spring rolls

Hungry Duck Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
77
5/5