.

Have an American Express® Card?

AMEX

From 1 - 30 November 2018, American Express Card Members can spend $20 or more in one transaction, in-store at participating Shop Small Merchants and get $10 back. To take advantage of this offer you must first save the offer to your Card here .

1890 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.9
1890 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Sun, 4 Nov 2018

(8)
Good service, nice setting, enjoyable experience
Hi and thank you for your review and score. We look forward to having you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Thu, 8 Nov 2018

dined on Tue, 30 Oct 2018

(10)
Never been let down by Gerard’s
Hi, thank you for your score and review. We look forward to having you back.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Wed, 31 Oct 2018

dined on Mon, 29 Oct 2018

(10)
Fantastic food and service. We left very impressed.
Hi, thank you for your score and review. We look forward to having you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Tue, 30 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

(9)
One of my favs! The beef brisket is beautiful!
Hi, thank you for your score and review. The brisket is definitely a favourite of ours. We look forward to having you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Sun, 28 Oct 2018

dined on Fri, 26 Oct 2018

(9)
Fantastic restaurant, amazing chefs. Every single dish is balanced incredibly with a real African and Middle Eastern influence. Highly recommended.
Hi Dakota, thank you for your score and wonderful comments. We are humbled and look forward to having you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Sun, 28 Oct 2018

dined on Mon, 22 Oct 2018

(8)
I dined here on a Monday night solo. It was quite busy but there were plenty of staff working. I was offered the option to sit anywhere and opted to sit at the bar. I had a gin cocktail which was refreshing and a great way to start the meal. For entrees, i tried a few of the singular pieces on offer which included a burghul cracker with coal infused hummus, a fresh oyster in a creamy style sauce and a buttered prawn. All were jampacked with flavour and could be eaten in 1-2 bites. For main, i had the confit cuttlefish with hazelnut puree, enoki mushrooms and bone sauce. The cuttlefish was sliced very thin and had a similar texture to pasta. I felt that the integrity of the seafood was well maintained in this dish and the flavours complemented each other. For the dessert, i opted for the "apple, oats and whey" which was a refreshing twist at the end of the meal and not sickly sweet. In addition, just wanted to call out the lovely lady who looked after me the entire evening. I believe she may have been a manager. She spent the time to explain all the dishes i asked about and provide honest recommendations.
Hi, thank you for your amazing review and score. We look forward to having you back anytime.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Sat, 3 Nov 2018

dined on Sun, 21 Oct 2018

(10)
Food was fabulous!! Had 2 lovely waitstaff. Defientely will be back.
Hi , thank you for the amazing score and wonderful comment. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience at Gerard's Bistro and look forward to having you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Tue, 23 Oct 2018

dined on Fri, 19 Oct 2018

(10)
Great food with exceptional service. Will be back!
Hi, thank you for the near perfect score and review. We look forward to hosting you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Sun, 28 Oct 2018

dined on Wed, 17 Oct 2018

(9)
Fantastic service!! We had the brisket and it was delicious!!
Hi, thank you for the perfect score and wonderful comment. We look forward to seeing you again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Thu, 18 Oct 2018

dined on Tue, 16 Oct 2018

(9)
Will definitely be back for more
Hi Matt, thank you for your kind words and near perfect score. We look forward to having you back again.
Restaurant Gerard's Bistro responded on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Gerard's Bistro

Hidden down a James Street laneway much like a Middle Eastern Bazaar, Gerard’s Bistro is a hidden treasure and an indulgent experience for food enthusiasts alike. The restaurant’s modern décor features a textured yet relaxing environment and is a masterwork of the Moubarak Brothers, Elie, Mel and Johnny, the avant-gardes behind Moubment Group. Serving lunch Tuesday to Sunday and Dinner 7 nights, Gerard’s Bistro offers a Modern Australian tapestry of flavours woven with inspiration from the great cuisines of the Maghreb and Middle East. Guests are encouraged to share the menu in a banquet experience, complimented by a unique and imaginative wine and drinks list. Since opening 4 years ago, Gerard’s Bistro together with Head Chef, Ben Williamson has received multiple accolades and notable mentions from various reputable publications including The Gourmet Traveller, The Weekend Australian’s Hot 50, Financial Review – Best Restaurant Queensland. Most recently Ben was awarded Chef of the Year in the 2017 Queensland Good Food Guide and the bistro picked up it’s second chef hat.

Features

Shop Small

Gerard's Bistro Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

4.5/5
3.5/5
9/10