.

2602 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.9
2602 reviews
Recommended
(9.2)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.7)

dined on Sat, 10 Nov 2018

(9)
Sat at the bar. Fantastic knowledgeable and friendly service. Excellent innovative food

dined on Wed, 7 Nov 2018

(9)
everything was great except the squid ink noodles - that was disappointing as it was incredibly oversalted... otherwise it wouldve been 10/10.

dined on Wed, 7 Nov 2018

(10)
Fantastic service, incredible food. Can’t wait to eat here again.

dined on Tue, 6 Nov 2018

(5)
I came to Ester with a high expectations and lots of excitement. With all good reviews I was so confident with my friends about this restaurant. And last night was such a roller coaster with us. I chose Tuesday night but still busy. Very rushy feeling. Started with Potato bread and Crisp Corn. Both of them was ok. Squid ink noodles came in. The texture was too soft, taste like instant noodles and salty. We ordered the Prawn special as the waiter recommended. The sauce was quite nice but too salty (again). Bay bug was a shock. The meat was undercooked, still raw. The saltiness in the sauce made me wandering is it the way of this restaurant cooking??!!. I had to look at the table next to me with old people and asking will they gonna get heart attack because of this level of salt in food. The duck came with 2 plates. One is duck leg confit. I don’t know is it supposed to be crispy or not. But it was so dry and salty (AGAIN!!! what did I do??!!). Bring me back to my childhood when I had “Salty dried fish” in Vietnam. The other plate with duck breast, drumstick and neck. Just so so... The good dishes that we had were Hanger steak and Cauliflower. Thanks god. We ordered two desserts to finish our dinner but my tongue was numb to enjoy it. Maybe you will think why we didn’t return those plates. First, we shared the meal with 4 people so not much left to return. Second, the night was too busy, the staffs were running back and forth, even dropped the Corn on my table so we didn’t want the night getting harder to them. I don’t know if these things happened only to us. I hope Ester’s chefs taste every dish before giving it to the customer. If you do then I think you need to see doctor to check your taste buds.
Malcolm

dined on Tue, 6 Nov 2018

(9)
Wonderful, knowledgeable and humble service that makes you immediately relax and in the perfect mood to enjoy their amazing food. Recommended.

dined on Mon, 5 Nov 2018

(9)
Nice ambiance and super friendly service. Creative dishes and good selection of wine offered. Must make advance Booking. It's full on Monday evening.

dined on Sun, 4 Nov 2018

(9)
Great food - will recommendations

dined on Sat, 3 Nov 2018

(9)
One of the most memorable meals, loved it.

dined on Sat, 3 Nov 2018

(5)
expected to be wowed...wasn't

dined on Sat, 3 Nov 2018

(9)
The food at Ester was interesting in a good way, with good flavour combinations and smart use of fresh ingredients. Some dishes were playful (such as the blood sausage sange, an improved version of the classic sausage sizzle). Flavours of the ingredients were never covered up with fussy sauces, and were allowed to shine; the hanger steak was properly flavoursome, yet surprisingly tender. The only let down was wine pairing; perhaps because it was lunch, there wasn't a sommelier on duty, but looking at what they had available, the suggestions, whilst not bad, didn't really allow the wine or food to shine.
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Ester

Ester-mania... Much-loved by Chippendale's multimedia creatives, Ester restaurant is seriously smokin’ hot...in more ways than one. Not only does this quirky eatery reign in the diners but it dishes out some seriously delicious share plates (all smokin’ hot), whipped up in a massive red hot wood fire oven that sits at the heart of the kitchen. With the oven the focus of much of the cooking, the chefs are trying to get everything touched by it, somehow. Anything from fish, chicken, lamb, duck, steak and even blue swimmer crab will come from the flaming hot oven. Try the half-head of cauliflower roasted until charred and served on a creamy almond emulsion with fresh mint (it’s absolute perfection!) and save room for a spoonful of caramel semifreddo for dessert (you won’t regret it). The space is an absolute charmer, wrought from rendered concrete, painted steel and glass. It’s the perfect place for a drop-in, sit at the bar style meal or a book-ahead, wine and dine with friends type of occasion. Ester has gone back to basics cooking principles and it’s paying off, this contemporary diner will be smokin’ hot for a long time to come. Best dish:half-head of cauliflower roasted until charred and served on a creamy almond emulsion with fresh mint

Ester Address

Google Map