.

1115 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

7.6
1115 reviews
Recommended
(7.4)
Food
(7.6)
Service
(8.1)
Value for money
(7.0)
Atmosphere
(8.0)

dined on Sat, 13 Oct 2018

(8)
Slightly disappointing experience overall. If you attend after 8pm on a Saturday night the 5 course tasting menu is not available. The entrees and cheese platter were very nice. The main course (duck) was more ordinary. Vegetarian main was apparently very good. Service was patchy early on the meal but improved as the meal progressed. Credit to the restaurant is due as staff offered to drive us back to our hotel after kitchen closed due to a lack of taxis in the area at 10pm. Would come back to Esca but probably for lunch only next time.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience, we will certainly take this on board moving forward. Very happy to hear that the team on the night was helpful regarding transport. We look forward to hosting you for lunch in future, the views are spectacular!
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
Annie

dined on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

(9)
The Tasting Plate with matching wines for lunch was delicious!
Hi Annie, lovely to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Tue, 16 Oct 2018

dined on Mon, 8 Oct 2018

(9)
Excellent quality food and service. Nice aspect.
Thank you for your recent visit, we are very happy you enjoyed your lunch, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards,
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Wed, 10 Oct 2018

dined on Sun, 30 Sep 2018

(7)
The view is amazing
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area. Kind Regards,
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Tue, 13 Nov 2018

dined on Fri, 28 Sep 2018

(9)
Acoustic evenings are a great idea
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your night, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Tue, 2 Oct 2018

dined on Sun, 23 Sep 2018

(9)
Food is good, view is great, service is excellent. Unfortunately the bread roll is as hard as rock. Everything else is amazing.
Hi Percy, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, and look forward to looking after you again in the future. Kind Regards,
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Tue, 25 Sep 2018

dined on Sat, 22 Sep 2018

(6)
Not much comments on this restaurant

dined on Sat, 15 Sep 2018

(2)
It felt like a refurbed bistro in an RSL. Food was average. We were asked for our dessert choice when ordering our mains. An absolute no-no for a restaurant purporting to be fine dining, which it’s not. Food came too quickly, as if they wanted to turn the table or close as soon as they could. Very disappointed and service was stilted and bordering on weird in terms of laboured chat, which seemed like awkward marketing efforts. Three different people serving us, one of whom asked way too many questions and while in principle this may be considered good service, his approach was awkward and he couldn’t read our polite disinterest so pressed on, making it even worse.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are sorry to hear it did not live up to expectations. Your feedback has been passed along to service and kitchen management. If you would like to discuss specifics please feel free to contact us directly on esca@bimbadgen.com.au.
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
Elie

dined on Sun, 9 Sep 2018

(8)
Great value for money for the lunch menu with amazing views to match
Hi Elie, glad to hear you enjoyed our new spring menu, and our spectacular views of the Hunter Valley! We look forward to looking after you again in the future.
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Tue, 18 Sep 2018

dined on Sat, 8 Sep 2018

(0)
Literally the worst dining experience ever. Food was bland, service was slow/non existent, zero atmosphere and $250 for two was excessive.
Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry to hear that your dining experience did not live up to expectation. If you would like to contact us directly via email to esca@bimbadgen.com.au we would be interested to hear more specifics of your visit.
Restaurant Esca Bimbadgen responded on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

New Year's Eve

5 course degustation menu. Live Entertainment from Jenny Marie Lang from 8:30pm $140pp - Sparkling on arrival and 5 course degustation. $180pp with wines Members: $130pp - Sparkling on arrival 5 course degustation. $165pp with wines
When
31 Dec 2018
Mon 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

New Year's Eve Balcony Seating

5 course degustation menu Live Entertainment from Jenny Marie Lang from 8:30pm $140pp - Sparkling on arrival and 5 course degustation. $180pp with wines Members: $130pp - Sparkling on arrival 5 course degustation. $165pp with wines
When
31 Dec 2018
Mon 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Esca Bimbadgen

Esca Bimbadgen is situated high on a hill in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country. Dedicated to the art of food & wine matching, Esca’s modern Australian cuisine, fresh local and home grown produce and spectacular views make for a truly memorable dining experience. Esca's contemporary restaurant design features large glass windows and an open balcony allowing guests stunning wine country views over the Bimbadgen vineyards to the Brokenback ranges. Esca Bimbadgen is a regional restaurant, that uses produce sourced locally or grown on the Estate including lemons, figs and fresh herbs. A feature of the menu are the Esca Tasting Plates, like a “mini-degustation”, where guests can enjoy three ‘tastes’ from the menu each matched with a Bimbadgen Estate wine. The wine list offers not only wines from Bimbadgen, but a selection of wines from other Hunter Valley producers and classic wines from regional areas throughout Australia and the world. Esca also has a private dining room for serious wine and food tastings and occasions. Recipient of one Wine Glass in the Gourmet Traveller Wine 2011 Wine List of the Year Awards. A pioneer of fine dining in the Hunter Valley, Esca exemplifies the unique nature of a winery restaurant, rather than simply a restaurant in a winery.

Esca Bimbadgen Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
87