.

1116 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

7.6
1116 reviews
Recommended
(7.4)
Food
(7.6)
Service
(8.1)
Value for money
(7.0)
Atmosphere
(8.0)

dined on Sat, 17 Mar 2018

(9)
really nice location and great food

dined on Fri, 16 Mar 2018

(5)
Unfortunately our lunch at Esca was a disappointment. Entrees were the tiniest possible servings and only of a fair quality. The standout of our 3 course meal was the Bannockburn Chicken - this was outstanding and saved the day. Both desserts were very average and uninteresting. Questionable had they been provided by a local cake shop and unacceptable from a restaurant of this calibre. The view from the deck is delightful and the service was excellent - albeit a little TOO attentive. The décor is plain, bordering on ordinary - the upholstery on my chair was worn and in need of replacement.
Louise Hunt

dined on Fri, 9 Mar 2018

(9)
beautiful food and wine and a stunning winery location

dined on Fri, 2 Mar 2018

(9)
Had a wonderful lunch here with amazing view, definitely coming back

dined on Sat, 17 Feb 2018

(7)
Nice views , food was okay

dined on Sun, 28 Jan 2018

(8)
New chef since we last visited and the food quality is still excellent. Service was a little overbearing, but given it was quiet when we visited, there weren’t many other tables to attend to. Still a great venue to visit for either lunch or dinner when visiting the Hunter.
Rod

dined on Sat, 27 Jan 2018

(2)
Service was amateurish considering that this was supposed to be a fine restaurant. We had our main courses turn up whilst we were still eating entree. Salmon was over cooked and the steak fatty and tough. Dessert profiteroles I’d suggest was made weeks ago and frozen. Very disappointing meal

dined on Sat, 27 Jan 2018

(10)
Excellent meal and lovely staff

dined on Fri, 26 Jan 2018

(9)
Food came out too fast
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

New Year's Eve

5 course degustation menu. Live Entertainment from Jenny Marie Lang from 8:30pm $140pp - Sparkling on arrival and 5 course degustation. $180pp with wines Members: $130pp - Sparkling on arrival 5 course degustation. $165pp with wines
When
31 Dec 2018
Mon 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

New Year's Eve Balcony Seating

5 course degustation menu Live Entertainment from Jenny Marie Lang from 8:30pm $140pp - Sparkling on arrival and 5 course degustation. $180pp with wines Members: $130pp - Sparkling on arrival 5 course degustation. $165pp with wines
When
31 Dec 2018
Mon 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Esca Bimbadgen

Esca Bimbadgen is situated high on a hill in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country. Dedicated to the art of food & wine matching, Esca’s modern Australian cuisine, fresh local and home grown produce and spectacular views make for a truly memorable dining experience. Esca's contemporary restaurant design features large glass windows and an open balcony allowing guests stunning wine country views over the Bimbadgen vineyards to the Brokenback ranges. Esca Bimbadgen is a regional restaurant, that uses produce sourced locally or grown on the Estate including lemons, figs and fresh herbs. A feature of the menu are the Esca Tasting Plates, like a “mini-degustation”, where guests can enjoy three ‘tastes’ from the menu each matched with a Bimbadgen Estate wine. The wine list offers not only wines from Bimbadgen, but a selection of wines from other Hunter Valley producers and classic wines from regional areas throughout Australia and the world. Esca also has a private dining room for serious wine and food tastings and occasions. Recipient of one Wine Glass in the Gourmet Traveller Wine 2011 Wine List of the Year Awards. A pioneer of fine dining in the Hunter Valley, Esca exemplifies the unique nature of a winery restaurant, rather than simply a restaurant in a winery.

Esca Bimbadgen Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
87