.

388 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.9
388 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Fri, 8 Dec 2017

(9)
Food very good, service not attentive and casual. Limited knowledge of menu.

dined on Wed, 6 Dec 2017

(9)
Very nice restaurant - lovely Danish food.

dined on Thu, 30 Nov 2017

(6)
Well hidden venue... we had a light lunch there and although what we did have was very well prepared and tasty it was very expensive for what it was and the portions were very small. We left a little disappointed as the experience could have been much better. We would only recommend it for a very light lunch and it would be noisy if it was busy. Probably best for a light business lunch where you spend more time talking than eating!

dined on Fri, 20 Oct 2017

(10)
Amazing food as always. Great service and nice environment. Highly recommended

dined on Fri, 20 Oct 2017

(9)
Great Nordic dishes and food. Service very attentive for a special lunch.

dined on Thu, 5 Oct 2017

(9)
Last minute changes were no problems. Friendly service as ever.

dined on Wed, 27 Sep 2017

(9)
I came here with the AmEx deal of spend 50+ get 20 dollars back. Overall, if you haven't tried Danish food, perhaps this is a place to visit. I came here for lunch and ordered the feed-me option at 38 dollars. We were given 5 different open sandwiches and it was interesting. The tastes were good and I did enjoy my lunch. One downside is the atmosphere. Given the cost and the location, it is mostly filled with businessmen having their business meetings or the elderly. I would of liked to seen better service, perhaps asking how the meal was, particularly at this type of restaurant. Otherwise, I did enjoy it, and may go back again if I wanted some expensive food on bread again for lunch...
Michael

dined on Tue, 19 Sep 2017

(9)
Good beer selection. Good Schnapps selection. A bright and airy setting. A chef who cooks for the Danish Royal family - what more could you ask for.
Margaret

dined on Mon, 18 Sep 2017

(10)
Delicious Danish food, healthy, fresh and superbly presented. Quiet atmosphere and great value for money.

dined on Thu, 7 Sep 2017

(9)
The design is light and welcoming.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Denmark House

Unless you have Nordic blood, you probably haven’t been to Melbourne’s Danish Club. The Danes are renowned for creating clean and simple dishes, and Dansk (housed on the third level of the city’s Danish House) is the epitome of this kind of cooking. If you’re not a member you’ll have to sign up at the main door, and the feeling of exclusivity is electric. Inside pale-oak floorboards, exposed beams, funky furniture and lighting are a reminder of why the Danes are also known for their design skills. The menu features contemporary Danish cuisine created by chef Bente Grysbaek: a herring platter, wiener schnitzel and a dessert cheese platter (featuring only Danish cheeses of course) are some of the shining stars on the menu. Its time to get acquainted with this northern cuisine. Try something new, you won’t regret it! Best Dish: pork and veal meatballs served with braised red cabbage, cucumber salad and organic rye bread.

Denmark House Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

93
4.5/5