.

376 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.8
376 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Thu, 5 Apr 2018

(7)
I have visited several times. I suggest the wait staff have allocated tables. Yesterday 3 of them asked us if we were ready to order - only minutes after our arrival. The service was slow - almost half an hour. There were apologies. I have taken 5 lots of visitors to Melbourne there because of the novelty, atmosphere & presentation of the food.

dined on Tue, 3 Apr 2018

(10)
Fantastic place. Always easy to drop in.
Jane

dined on Thu, 29 Mar 2018

(9)
The menu had been updated since our last visit and the choices were fantastic. Authentic Danish smørrebrød in the heart of Melbourne. Good food, good service and lovely atmosphere

dined on Tue, 13 Mar 2018

(8)
Very nice Danish decor and food

dined on Wed, 7 Mar 2018

(10)
service was quick and discreet

dined on Fri, 2 Mar 2018

(6)
We were all greeted warmly and enjoyed the food and wine, unfortunately our lunch took 45 minutes to arrive (despite 2 reminders) and the service was very patchy, after the initial drink and food order we had to chase up all other requests. Very disappointing.

dined on Thu, 15 Feb 2018

(9)
A regular lunch place for me

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(9)
Really needs to be open on weekends and I would return, hard getting in during the week. Would be nice if staff told me what each dish was when it came out to add to the experience, they did this with the wine though.
Hansen

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(9)
Fantastic food. The lamb rump is to die for!

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(10)
Denmark House was a great experience as always.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Denmark House

Unless you have Nordic blood, you probably haven’t been to Melbourne’s Danish Club. The Danes are renowned for creating clean and simple dishes, and Dansk (housed on the third level of the city’s Danish House) is the epitome of this kind of cooking. If you’re not a member you’ll have to sign up at the main door, and the feeling of exclusivity is electric. Inside pale-oak floorboards, exposed beams, funky furniture and lighting are a reminder of why the Danes are also known for their design skills. The menu features contemporary Danish cuisine created by chef Bente Grysbaek: a herring platter, wiener schnitzel and a dessert cheese platter (featuring only Danish cheeses of course) are some of the shining stars on the menu. Its time to get acquainted with this northern cuisine. Try something new, you won’t regret it! Best Dish: pork and veal meatballs served with braised red cabbage, cucumber salad and organic rye bread.

Denmark House Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

93
4.5/5