.

351 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.8
351 reviews
Recommended
(9.2)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Fri, 1 Jul 2016

(7)
Food was superb.

dined on Tue, 28 Jun 2016

(9)
Very efficient and friendly service. Great food. Highly recommended.
Pia

dined on Tue, 28 Jun 2016

(8)
We came for lunch and had open top Danish sandwiches (smoerrebroed) which is served for lunch every day and prepared fresh as you wait. The quality was good and it was very authentic with all the right flavours although my smoked eel was a little disappointing mainly because it was more Japanese teppanyaki style than Danish. My favourite was the curry herring and the vet's midnight snack (dyrlaegens natmad). Anyone craving a bit of Danish food will definitely be satisfied at Restaurant Dansk. I should mention that the Akvavit (snaps) selection is very good as are their Danish beers. We paid about $45.- per person for 5 pieces of smoerrebroed - excluding beverages. If you go for the selection of day you can get 5 pieces for $35.-.

dined on Fri, 24 Jun 2016

(8)
Interesting Nordic cuisine
Jennifer

dined on Wed, 22 Jun 2016

(9)
First time to try Hertug Han Danish walnut beer! Apparently this restaurant is the only place that you can get this unique beer. Thought $19 for a bottle of beer was a bit pricy but enjoyed the flavour. I ordered beef brisket, fried onion, cucumber pickle, and remoulade on a rye bread to accompany my beer. The portion size is quite small but very fresh and tasty. I would definitely come back and try other dishes next time.

dined on Wed, 22 Jun 2016

(7)
We wanted open Danish Sandwiches and that is exactly what we got, and they were great. Plenty of range to pick from and for lunch at around $40 per person with a glass of champers it was good value. Would go back again
Ragna

dined on Fri, 17 Jun 2016

(9)
Lovely Danish open sandwiches,just like they make in Denmark

dined on Wed, 15 Jun 2016

(9)
Our second visit. Server offers great flexibility. Food and wine were great. Decor is unique. Wish there were more diners.
Ragna

dined on Fri, 10 Jun 2016

(9)
Food great Service great but no atmosphere as we were the only diners there
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About Denmark House

Unless you have Nordic blood, you probably haven’t been to Melbourne’s Danish Club. The Danes are renowned for creating clean and simple dishes, and Dansk (housed on the third level of the city’s Danish House) is the epitome of this kind of cooking. If you’re not a member you’ll have to sign up at the main door, and the feeling of exclusivity is electric. Inside pale-oak floorboards, exposed beams, funky furniture and lighting are a reminder of why the Danes are also known for their design skills. The menu features contemporary Danish cuisine created by chef Bente Grysbaek: a herring platter, wiener schnitzel and a dessert cheese platter (featuring only Danish cheeses of course) are some of the shining stars on the menu. Its time to get acquainted with this northern cuisine. Try something new, you won’t regret it! Best Dish: pork and veal meatballs served with braised red cabbage, cucumber salad and organic rye bread.

Denmark House Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

93
4.5/5