.

637 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.2
637 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.3)
Service
(7.8)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(7.6)

dined on Sun, 2 Oct 2016

(7)
Pleasant evening meal in manly! Would return
Brad

dined on Sat, 1 Oct 2016

(9)
Really enjoyed this restaurant, the pizza was excellent and BYO was a pleasant surprise.

dined on Fri, 30 Sep 2016

(5)
Unfortunately our pizza was soggy and lacked flavour. The desserts were very disappointing.
Ciao Michael, I'm very sorry you didn't like our pizza. But I'm here to assure you that, being pizza Napoletana, it was 100% how it should be! (very different in consistency the fresh dough and with a smaller number of delicious ingredients). So it's sad that you didn't like it but that was our beloved product, same as in Napoli, what most people consider the best pizza in the world. I understand it is very different from the Australian standards. I hope you will come and try it again with different expectations. Very surprised you didn't like our desserts cos they are so successful..but I think you like very very strong flavours.. Hope to see you again Luca
Luca Canonico, De Vita - Tastes of Napoli responded on Sat, 1 Oct 2016

dined on Sat, 24 Sep 2016

(2)
Been here numerous times. Service was extremely slow and waited for 1 pizza and 2 pastas for 1.5hrs. Pizza was burnt.
Hi Julieann, I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience last night. It was a tragic night in terms of staff for us. One of our pizza chefs couldn't come to work and we were also short one waiter.. It just happens sometimes and we had to toughen up and I think we did a great job even though it wasn't obviously the best night. 1.5 hours to get pizza sounds really big even on a difficult night like last night, I hope this amount of time included starters.. Since you say that you have been here many times you know that this is not our standard but just a poor performance due to staff related emergency and I'm very sorry about that. I hope you gave us good reviews and rating points every time you had a good experience, I'm sure you did, it wouldn't be fair otherwise.. Hope to see you back here soon Thank you Luca
Luca Canonico, De Vita - Tastes of Napoli responded on Sun, 25 Sep 2016

dined on Fri, 23 Sep 2016

(8)
Good selection of Italian wine Excellent pizza in this part of Sydney .........very different from other pizza places

dined on Sun, 18 Sep 2016

(9)
Nice family atmosphere to the extent that it does get a bit "noisy" at times
Jennifer

dined on Fri, 16 Sep 2016

(10)
We love De Vita. Luca is amazing and genuinely makes you feel like family. The restaurant is always warm and full of love. The pizza never disappoints!
Robert

dined on Tue, 13 Sep 2016

(8)
Great service, pizzas tasty.
Vicky

dined on Sat, 10 Sep 2016

(10)
Excellent food and service, best pizza
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About De Vita - Tastes of Napoli

Pizza with a twist Italians always insist the best food comes from wherever they grew up – but they also generally agree that the cuisine of Naples is rather spectacular. The birthplace of pizza is serious about food, and chef Vincenzo De Vita shares this passion. He’s a native Neapolitan who has brought experience and knowledge from his home region (with a twist of his own style) to De Vita – Tastes of Napoli in Sydney’s Manly. De Vita’s menu is vast, so you might want to pick a tasty little starter (such as the adorable little fried balls of dough called ‘scugnizzi’) to snack on while you peruse the menu. While there are some excellent main courses to choose from (like homemade ravioli and linguine with fresh seafood), the food of Naples is really all about pizza. To acknowledge this, the menu at De Vita has no less than three pizza menus. The first contains some of the classics, such as the capricciosa, next to some less traditional options like the lasagna pizza. The second menu offers some wonderfully indulgent fried pizza; and the third is devoted to special pizzas such as the ‘Toto’, which comes with a ricotta-stuffed edge. If you want to really delight your fellow diners, order the star-shaped Stella pizza, which comes with a different flavor in each point. Best dish: the stella pizza

Number of seats
65
Parking availability
Yes
Takeaway
Yes

De Vita - Tastes of Napoli Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

75