.

160 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.2
160 reviews
Recommended
(8.4)
Food
(8.2)
Service
(8.1)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Sat, 7 Nov 2015

(8)
The best thing about this neighbourhood restaurant is the fact it is quiet!!!!! I go early and it is so pleasant to be able to speak softly and to be heard.

dined on Fri, 30 Oct 2015

(8)
The food here is great. The service terrific. Nothing is too much trouble. It is a great weekly outing or large family celebration destination. We love it!

dined on Wed, 28 Oct 2015

(10)
Good service good food

dined on Tue, 27 Oct 2015

(7)
Nice that we were given a free birthday ice cream

dined on Sat, 3 Oct 2015

(5)
I feel very dissatisfied after my visit to Chimes on Saturday 3rd October 2015. The staff need some serious customer service training. Not only did one of the clumsy waiters drop a dirty knife on my sisters back and stain her top, but the service was all over the place in general. I don't understand why you need 4 waiters serving at once, with one of them clearing the table, one filling up the water, one brining out food and the other asking if we want to order more food! Do these guys have any idea what they are doing?! I think not.The service seemed very random and not coordinated at all, and after all the commotion, we were over charged by $25 for entrees we did not order, which they kindly refunded. As for the naan bread we ordered, we ordered the fruit and nut one, a plain naan (for the people with a nut allergy) and a cheese naan. When 2 baskets came out, they told us the one ws plaon and the other was fruit and nut varied, which, much to our dismay they were mistaken. When my sister who has a nut allergy, bit into the fruit and nut one, which we were told was plain, but was not, and she immediately froze and we feared for her safety. The staff need to know exactly what they are serving when they bring food to the table! Dessert was also a huge let down, considering how pricey they were. We ordered the carrot pudding (which was serviced in TINY coffee cups may i add)and gulab jamun, which came SMOTHERED with plain cheap vanilla ice cream, which we not expect nor did we enjoy. The gulab jamun were also very stale and hard, compared to other softer varieties that we have enjoyed elsewhere in the past. The coffee we ordered to have with our desserts was burnt and also very over priced at $4 for an espresso! The food overall was delicious, although a little pricy, considering we didn't walk out feeling incredibly full and could have ordered more. My suggestion to this restaurant would be to have 2 staff on MAXIMUM on a Saturday night, as there was only 3 other tables in the restaurant (4-5 were completely unnecessary and overkill!), and teach the staff how NOT to smother the patrons, but rather be more attentive to their needs when they need them. This would have to be the biggest let down for us. Also consider adding some music as the atmosphere was a little quite and boring. May reconsider returning in the future but we are definitely not in any rush.

dined on Tue, 29 Sep 2015

(8)
Good Indian food in a suburban setting. We have a close friend from Assam, I think it is good enough to invite her to try their food. Service was good albeit they were sometimes a little distracted
Dianne

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(9)
We ate only vegetarian meals because our companion is vegetarian and the food was delicious, satisfying and very good value for money. On Friday/Saturday nights, a vocalist entertains with 60's, 70's and 80's music.

dined on Sun, 6 Sep 2015

(6)
Restaurant is spotless, food is good but service was a little lazy. The waiter needed to be reminded about one of our dishes which had failed to come. He rectified the problem and the dish was brought out shortly after
Rebecca

dined on Sun, 16 Aug 2015

(9)
The food was delicious and served promptly and hot. Service was very good and the decor was lovely. We have a had an enjoyable evening and will certainly return.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Chimes Indian Restaurant

Ding dong Chimes Indian restaurant is an experience of authentic and innovative Indian cuisine and culture. The elegant and spacious dining room looks out over the bustling Belmore Road and sets the tone for a wonderful dinner. Since changing hands in 2012, the new team have brought a new style to their cooking. The menu takes flavours from across India to offer you a whole bunch of choices we found it really hard to make! But for the unsure, there are always the chef’s signatures that never fail to tantalise and satisfy. Why not try their sizzling tandoori platter of chicken, lamb and prawn drenched in claypot-infused flavours? Or how about their marinated lambs leg raan? You’ll have to call up in advanced for that one, as it takes a loving 48hrs of preparation to bring it to your plate. Rotating specials change with the seasons, giving you the tastiest available produce in Indian style. Chimes Indian Restaurant is vegetarian-friendly and gluten free on request so come in and bring the family. Best dish: Chimes Tandoori Raan

Number of seats
94
Parking availability
Yes
Takeaway
Yes

Chimes Indian Restaurant Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

77
3.5/5