.

172 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

7.6
172 reviews
Recommended
(7.8)
Food
(7.4)
Service
(7.3)
Value for money
(7.5)
Atmosphere
(7.9)
David

dined on Fri, 4 Nov 2016

(3)
Far too many staff, some standing around doing nothing at all watching one or two rushed off their feet. Some staff clearly training as they didnt seem to know what they were doing. A lot of effort going into 'take away' at the expense of looking after customers in the restaurant. No one asked us how our meal was until we paid at the till. The lamb meat was poor quality. We have tried this restaurant before, and we have received very variable experience. There are too many other restaurants nearby to convince us to go there again. They need a good shake up, and proper supervision of their staff - and at least one was working very hard indeed on the till and looking after take away.
Chris

dined on Mon, 10 Oct 2016

(10)
Best Indian food I have eaten. Great friendly service. Inexpensive.

dined on Sun, 18 Sep 2016

(9)
Great food and service, will be back again... Thank you

dined on Fri, 16 Sep 2016

(8)
Good food and good service

dined on Fri, 2 Sep 2016

(10)
Great place, will be going again. Loved everything about it especially the food!
Martin

dined on Sat, 27 Aug 2016

(9)
Great food and great service. The live music was a great addition to the atmosphere.

dined on Sat, 20 Aug 2016

(6)
Great Indian food. Nice atmosphere.

dined on Sat, 30 Jul 2016

(8)
This is a charming establishment in the North Balwyn region. It is more elegant that many suburban Indian restaurants. There was live music but at a level that did not hinder conversation. Try one of the Chef's specialties - they are great!

dined on Sat, 9 Jul 2016

(8)
Only fault I can is to have the lighting just a little lower, is very bright. Great food and service though...
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Chimes Indian Restaurant

Ding dong Chimes Indian restaurant is an experience of authentic and innovative Indian cuisine and culture. The elegant and spacious dining room looks out over the bustling Belmore Road and sets the tone for a wonderful dinner. Since changing hands in 2012, the new team have brought a new style to their cooking. The menu takes flavours from across India to offer you a whole bunch of choices we found it really hard to make! But for the unsure, there are always the chef’s signatures that never fail to tantalise and satisfy. Why not try their sizzling tandoori platter of chicken, lamb and prawn drenched in claypot-infused flavours? Or how about their marinated lambs leg raan? You’ll have to call up in advanced for that one, as it takes a loving 48hrs of preparation to bring it to your plate. Rotating specials change with the seasons, giving you the tastiest available produce in Indian style. Chimes Indian Restaurant is vegetarian-friendly and gluten free on request so come in and bring the family. Best dish: Chimes Tandoori Raan

Chimes Indian Restaurant Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

77
3.5/5