.

319 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.3
319 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(7.8)
Gary

dined on Fri, 8 Jul 2016

(9)
Pork dish was excellent

dined on Thu, 7 Jul 2016

(8)
We all loved the Veal, and really, every one needs to dine here just to enjoy the Calamari.

dined on Fri, 1 Jul 2016

(8)
Thanks Maurice. The 8 of us enjoyed our Friday evening at Cala Luna.

dined on Wed, 29 Jun 2016

(9)
Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. The bread is fresh, the pasta is cooked perfectly, the atmosphere is cosy and the little touches make it a truly remarkable dining experience.
Wow Nicholas thank you so much. Your words make a smile in a sense of pride. Thank you so much again for your kind words and feedback. Its is due to the team that lead the fort at Cala Luna that make this happen day after day.. well done team
Michel Rosetti, Cala Luna responded on Thu, 30 Jun 2016
Bill Thompson

dined on Thu, 23 Jun 2016

(10)
Beautiful old building and character filled. Red carpet, liquor trolleys, old waiters. Like a movie, or as it feels after a few glasses of wine.. Enjoyed it alot

dined on Tue, 21 Jun 2016

(2)
Very disappointing from start to finish apart from the wine which was delicious and we paid accordingly for this. The fact we were the only guests sitting in the formal dining room tells it all.
Hello and thank you for your review. It's disappointing that you feel this way about our Cala Luna restaurant that is one of the busiest restaurants in north Sydney. We wish we where full every lunch but unfortunately in the fine dining market this simply is just not realistic on a Tuesday lunch. We had 2 of our private dining rooms full upstairs but our main dining room did 6 clients that day. We only serve the finest produce sourced locally and have a great team of chefs and experienced waiters to serve you. I am really disappointed that you felt this way without giving us direct feedback. We are passionate about what we do everyday serving our best to you. We ask any clients anytime to let us know if they don't like anything we will always offer something else (at no charge) to make you have a great dining experience. That is what we have done for over 3 years here now in this beautiful heritage building
Restaurant Cala Luna responded on Wed, 22 Jun 2016

dined on Thu, 16 Jun 2016

(8)
Delicious! Delicious! Delicious!
John Coughlan

dined on Wed, 15 Jun 2016

(7)
Main Meals overpriced. Service and Atmosphere both good. Big difference between fine dining and casual dining in same Restaurant.
Hello John thanks for review. I am glad to hear you have tried both of our dining options, casual pizzeria and up market Italian Cala Luna. We don't dare any of our options as fine dining. The menu offerings in both restaurants are completely different and they really are 2 seperate restaurants within 1 building. All prices and concurrent to prices that we pay for premium produce. Our scotch fillet for example costs us in Excess of $55 per kg. We only use the freshest best produce we can source. Thanks for review.. Regards
Michel Rosetti, Cala Luna responded on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Cala Luna

Mediterranean Soul If you love dining in a homey atmosphere with staff that feel like family, then Cala Luna is the place for you. Cala Luna started out as a family affair, when migrant chef John and his two sons brought the flavours of Italy down to Queensland with them. Their cuisine was inspired by traditional recipes passed down from family, as well as other dishes from the regions in southern Italy. Since then, the restaurant has changed hands – but the spirit of the original owners lives on. Their values? Dishing up authentic homey Italian food with a welcoming smile. Here, you’ll find pizzas and pastas done in true Italian style. Starters include richly flavoured seafood such as squid croquettes and Hervey Bay scallops. As for the mains, they’re all about the blend of classic herbs, fresh vegetables and hearty meats. The simple yet traditional flavours are divine! And they even do some classics just for the kids. At Cala Luna, even the service is reminiscent of Italy, with welcoming hosts that are always up for some friendly banter. Cala Luna is the kind of place you’ll want to go back to. Best dish: Tagliato di vitello

Cala Luna Address

Google Map