.

Have an American Express® Card?

AMEX

Due to an overwhelming response to Shop Small, the offer cap has been reached. However, if you have already saved the Shop Small Offer to your Card, you are still able to book and redeem at any of the participating locations with the Shop Small badge from 1 – 30 November 2018 once per participating Merchant, up to five times.

1360 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
1360 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(8.3)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.2)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Wed, 14 Mar 2018

(10)
Beautiful restaurant after a nice walk from the city of Melbourne
Jane Morison

dined on Sat, 10 Mar 2018

(10)
Love this place. Attention to detail, quality of food, great staff, ambiance, it has it all

dined on Sat, 10 Mar 2018

(7)
Lovely restaurant with consistently good food quality and presentation. Waiters always polite and attentive. It’s very expensive for the type of food they present so it’s a special occasion restaurant at best.

dined on Sat, 10 Mar 2018

(8)
Chasing yield has resulted in congested table configuration & noise

dined on Wed, 7 Mar 2018

(6)
We had the lunch special. It was ok. The wine which was part of the special was undrinkable. I was there in December and had a fabulous experience so disappointing that it was so opposite when I dined recently. If I go again, I won’t order the special but off the menu and the pasta really is the way to go there - it’s always GOOD!

dined on Tue, 27 Feb 2018

(10)
This was an excellent meal with quality service. The restaurant, unlike so many these days is peaceful, allowing patrons to talk without shouting over loud music. The wait staff are professionals not backpackers, so the meal is paced properly and service is attentive but not intrusive. We'll be back.

dined on Sat, 24 Feb 2018

(6)
To many tables squashed into restaurant. Very noisey waiters run off their feet. Good quality food but just too noisey on Saturday nights

dined on Tue, 20 Feb 2018

(8)
It lives up to its reputation
ALAN

dined on Mon, 19 Feb 2018

(3)
Supposed fine dining Cafe di Stasio was not. Water service was very ordinary and inattentive and became begrudging and poor when a plate was returned. Of four main plates, two were good, two were poor. Two ordered 'fish of the day' and specifically requested that the fish not be over-cooked. (previous bad experiences !) Both plates were served with over-cooked cuts (cross-cut fillet/supreme). I returned my plate and was offered another serving. The cut was from the thinner back & belly. At least it was properly cooked. Owner/Manager apologised and did not charge for the main. This was appreciated as the menu is in top restaurant prices. Overall - not a fine dining experience. Am unlikely to go again as there are many more similar restaurants to choose from.
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About Cafe di Stasio

They haven’t aged a day! How many restaurants do you know that have been around since the eighties? Now how many do you know that are as current as Michelangelo’s twitter feed? Cafe di Stasio is St Kilda’s veteran eatery that’s as hip as any. Praised by both locals and critics, Cafe di Stasio is dressed to impress. Its moody lighting and sophisticated setting make it the quintessential inner-city hang out hip, neat and just the right amount of fancy. This place doesn’t shy from the contemporary, nor from hanging up work by the provocative artist Bill Henson. Cafe di Stasio does Italian cuisine just the way the Melbournians like it. They craft their pasta not once, but twice daily, and have special spins on classic favourites. Why not try some of their Bread maltagliati with calamari and radicchio or their home made Linguine with prawns? You’ll have the perfect wine to complement your meal, as these guys get their wine from the very best local and international sources. If you haven’t been to this St Kilda favourite yet, you better get on it. Best dish: Casseula di ceci (Tuscan-style chickpeas, black cabbage and tomato with garlic bruschetta

Features

Shop Small

Cafe di Stasio Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

16/20
69
4.5/5
4.5/5