.

417 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
417 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sat, 7 Apr 2018

(9)
Always great quality food for many years
Jessica

dined on Wed, 4 Apr 2018

(9)
The servIce was spot on. We booked for a pre theatre dinner and all the courses were served in a timely manner. My cabrese salad was delicious. My husband loved the roasted chicken dish.

dined on Tue, 3 Apr 2018

(8)
We went for a late lunch and the restaurant was quiet, however, more importantly, the food and the service were excellent. The bread that they served was some of the nicest bread I've had.

dined on Thu, 29 Mar 2018

(10)
Friendly service and great food

dined on Thu, 29 Mar 2018

(8)
One of my favourite restaurants in Melbourne

dined on Sat, 17 Mar 2018

(5)
We didn’t really get value for what we had spent. Our meat was not cooked as we requested and because we were on a timer and had to be out to make room for the next sitting, we decided to pay the bill and leave. Every other table was given a candle in the middle of the table and when we asked why we didn’t have one, the waitress told us it would make the cooks in the kitchen squint? Not sure how to take that comment.

dined on Fri, 16 Mar 2018

(10)
We booked Becco as a pre theatre dinner and have to say the food was absolutely delicious and the service was prompt and extremely friendly. We would love to go back shortly to enjoy a longer dining experience.

dined on Tue, 13 Mar 2018

(8)
The mains should be slightly bigger and butter should be served with the bread.

dined on Sat, 3 Mar 2018

(4)
Made a same day booking for 2 adults and a toddler. They called an hour before the booking (when they opened) to inform that they don't have a highchair or space for a pram. I thought, it's fine since not all restaurant welcome children and we could find another restaurant to go to. But they said that they can set us in the bar area. I agreed to that against my better intuition. We arrived and we had a table next to the entrance, in the bar area with plenty of space. Seemed good. But for some reason we were definitely not welcome in the restaurant. Our waiter never smiled and didn't even react to a bit of small talk. Our son is quite active and was playing most of the time and when he was laughing out loud, the staff came us strange looks from the counter. I would say we were no disturbance and even if we would have been, we were seated in a separate room with no other guests. Besides one of us was out on the street with our son most of the time since he found it boring to sit inside while we waited for the food. It was a very strange and unwelcoming experience. Or it might have been also the fact that it's a fine restaurant and being a hot day, I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt. Maybe I wasn't fitting their dress code. Only in the end we saw some smiles from the staff when they greeted us out. Just happy that we left? It was a shame since the food was really really good and could have imagined coming again if the atmosphere were decent and welcoming. Would recommend the restaurant for couples looking for a formal service and good food. Would not recommend for families or if you prefer a personal approach.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

About Becco

Food from Italy Longevity of a restaurant is testament to a number of things - quality and flavour of the food, environment and service. Becco, located in Crossley Street in the city has been around since 1996 proving that it is capable of serving sturdy, classic Italian food, year after year. The decor is minimal, but it works. Sit at the bar and sip away on a Becco Macchiato, the restaurant’s signature cocktail while nibbling on yummy snacks from the short bar menu. For something more substantial get cosy in the cosseted booths in the dining room where there is a more plentiful menu which focuses on food from Italy - the country - not a specific region. It’s all good Italian food. Best dish: Spaghettini, Vongole, Garlic, White Wine, EVO, Chili.

Becco Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

15/20