.

401 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
401 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(8.3)

dined on Sat, 17 Mar 2018

(5)
We didn’t really get value for what we had spent. Our meat was not cooked as we requested and because we were on a timer and had to be out to make room for the next sitting, we decided to pay the bill and leave. Every other table was given a candle in the middle of the table and when we asked why we didn’t have one, the waitress told us it would make the cooks in the kitchen squint? Not sure how to take that comment.

dined on Fri, 16 Mar 2018

(10)
We booked Becco as a pre theatre dinner and have to say the food was absolutely delicious and the service was prompt and extremely friendly. We would love to go back shortly to enjoy a longer dining experience.

dined on Tue, 13 Mar 2018

(8)
The mains should be slightly bigger and butter should be served with the bread.

dined on Sat, 3 Mar 2018

(4)
Made a same day booking for 2 adults and a toddler. They called an hour before the booking (when they opened) to inform that they don't have a highchair or space for a pram. I thought, it's fine since not all restaurant welcome children and we could find another restaurant to go to. But they said that they can set us in the bar area. I agreed to that against my better intuition. We arrived and we had a table next to the entrance, in the bar area with plenty of space. Seemed good. But for some reason we were definitely not welcome in the restaurant. Our waiter never smiled and didn't even react to a bit of small talk. Our son is quite active and was playing most of the time and when he was laughing out loud, the staff came us strange looks from the counter. I would say we were no disturbance and even if we would have been, we were seated in a separate room with no other guests. Besides one of us was out on the street with our son most of the time since he found it boring to sit inside while we waited for the food. It was a very strange and unwelcoming experience. Or it might have been also the fact that it's a fine restaurant and being a hot day, I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt. Maybe I wasn't fitting their dress code. Only in the end we saw some smiles from the staff when they greeted us out. Just happy that we left? It was a shame since the food was really really good and could have imagined coming again if the atmosphere were decent and welcoming. Would recommend the restaurant for couples looking for a formal service and good food. Would not recommend for families or if you prefer a personal approach.
Jim

dined on Fri, 2 Mar 2018

(9)
Excellent wine list and menu. Service very attentive. Our food was delicious.
Rob

dined on Fri, 2 Mar 2018

(9)
A favourite for business lunches, as service is discreet and professional, food is reliably great, and location is perfect.

dined on Wed, 28 Feb 2018

(9)
Excellent Food Will definitely return A little bit noisy

dined on Sat, 24 Feb 2018

(8)
Generally very good would certainly go again

dined on Fri, 23 Feb 2018

(4)
Beef carpaccio and veal was one of the worst we’ve ever had at any fine dining restaurant. Especially for an Italian restaurant that is highly rated, it was not good.
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Becco

Food from Italy Longevity of a restaurant is testament to a number of things - quality and flavour of the food, environment and service. Becco, located in Crossley Street in the city has been around since 1996 proving that it is capable of serving sturdy, classic Italian food, year after year. The decor is minimal, but it works. Sit at the bar and sip away on a Becco Macchiato, the restaurant’s signature cocktail while nibbling on yummy snacks from the short bar menu. For something more substantial get cosy in the cosseted booths in the dining room where there is a more plentiful menu which focuses on food from Italy - the country - not a specific region. It’s all good Italian food. Best dish: Spaghettini, Vongole, Garlic, White Wine, EVO, Chili.

Becco Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

15/20