.

90 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.3
90 reviews
Recommended
(10.0)
Food
(10.0)
Service
(10.0)
Value for money
(10.0)
Atmosphere
(10.0)

dined on Tue, 20 Sep 2011

(8)
Very happy with the service. Food presented beautifully and tasted delicious. Allowed to share an entree with positive response.

dined on Sat, 10 Sep 2011

(9)
The food was lovely & appropriately priced. I wasn't particularly involved in the wine list, but the others seems happy with their choices. Our waitress was friendly & attentive and everthing was as we hoped it would be. Our party was a bit older than the room average & although we found it a bit noisy I'd be happy to go again.

dined on Thu, 8 Sep 2011

(8)
Good food, with friendly and efficient service. A great to enjoy restaurant-style food in the dining area, then head out to the courtyard for a few beers. Will definitely eat there again.
Kerrie Dungan

dined on Fri, 19 Aug 2011

(9)
The food & service was terrific, would definitely go back
Tania

dined on Thu, 28 Jul 2011

(5)
We ordered french style braised chicken which is nice, and duck leg, but very small, only one leg...I think Bergerac is better value and taste similar. Also, she forgot to serve our entree, then we have to cancel it.
Mark Jackman

dined on Fri, 11 Mar 2011

(10)
Fantastic food, best meal I've had in Melbourne in a number of years. Also, fantastic service from our waitress throughout the night - attentive without being over the top.

dined on Sat, 12 Feb 2011

(7)
When we first walked in we asked for our table and we were left waiting for 5 minutes without being told what was going on. Not a great first impression but food made up for it. It got very loud as the night went on because of the band upstairs. Hard to hear people speak.
Anthea Palmer

dined on Fri, 28 Jan 2011

(7)
Waitress didn't know menu and couldn't provide information without checking. Great decor and comfortable seating.

dined on Fri, 7 Jan 2011

(8)
Great food and wine. service was friendly, attentive and cute. The only down fall was the heat. The dining area was very hot with the windows open wich made us all sticking uncomfortable. We did not really get the benefits of the aircon. Other than that we all loved the Aviary.

dined on Sun, 5 Dec 2010

(8)
Great little Abbotsford gastropub. Went on a sunny Sunday afternoon and sat in the window overlooking the Victoria Street hubbub. Kangaroo salad and charcuterie plates were both divine. Oysters were fresh, salt and pepper calamari was perfectly cooked and not too heavy. Great value @ $90 for two people, 3 tasting plates + oysters and a beer and wine each. Service was a little awkward at times, and the venue was a little quiet for my liking (only one other table there) - but these are minor gripes in what was a fabulous afternoon.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

About Aviary Hotel

Not just for the Birds Among the Vietnamese restaurants of Abbotsford’s Victoria Street, Aviary Hotel provides a modern Australian alternative. The high ceilinged dining hall is awe-inspiring with its stained glass arches. There’s got cushiony booths with yellow leather and a glistening bar that’s just chock full of tantalising liquors. The Aviary is as pretty as a birdcage! Here the menu is minimalistic, and that’s the way we like it. With fewer things on it, the better they get done, right? Mediterranean foods take centre stage. With oysters, olives and panzanella to share. Then there are worldlier and reinterpreted numbers like the delicious pan-fried gnocchi and creamy chicken confit. And if you react anything like we did, the sweets on the dessert menu will simply wow you. What’s not to love about apple baklava cleverly matched with pistachio ice cream and candied pecans? Or the durian parfait with kaffir lime syrup? The Aviary Hotel is a stunning choice for delicious food and stylish dining. Best dish: pan fried gnocchi

Aviary Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

89
3.5/5