Alan

Alan Brady

Alan's Latest reviews: Alan's Top 10 restaurants:

La Camera Southgate

Southbank

Alan dined on Wed, 15th Nov 2017 (8)

Good Italian food with efficient service

Downstairs Bistro & Lounge

Southbank

Alan dined on Thu, 28th Sep 2017 (6)

Menu was neither as varied nor interesting as on other occasions when we have dined here. Service was good though we weren't offered a wine list. The advertised orecchiette was replaced by a shell pasta however the food was reasonable, though a little bland.

Rook Sri Lankan Fusion Restaurant

Geelong

Alan dined on Sat, 23rd Sep 2017 (9)

Interesting, different and very tasty food . The service was excellent, with each dish explained in detail and every care taken, including the serving of the Sri Lankan teas. Well worth it and definitely to be repeated.

Spanish Black Bull Tapas

Geelong

Alan dined on Sat, 8th Jul 2017 (8)

Great paella; very interesting pulled lamb with harissa. Tasty desserts. A really good Spanish restaurant.

Tutto Bene

Melbourne CBD

Alan dined on Fri, 30th Jun 2017 (9)

Beetroot risotto was well cooked and tasty though lacked "extra" interest. Chicken saltimbocca was really good, as were both desserts - lemon meringue and a fabulous pistachio mousse with salted caramel popcorn. Service was fast and efficient and the people-watching along the riverbank is always interesting!

Kri Kri

Melbourne CBD

Alan dined on Tue, 20th Jun 2017 (7)

Well presented and cooked meals (though the pork belly was a little too dry for my taste).

Ludlow Bar & Dining Room

Southbank

Alan dined on Wed, 14th Jun 2017 (9)

Great seafood chowder and cauliflower and leek pie. Service quick and price very reasonable

Mojo Mama

Geelong

Alan dined on Fri, 26th May 2017 (8)

Very good Mexican with fast and friendly service

Dish Restaurant

Melbourne CBD

Alan dined on Wed, 24th May 2017 (7)

Generally well presented and enjoyable food (veal and barramundi mains). Rocky Road sundae dessert seemed to be mostly chocolate ice-cream and might benefit from a better mix of nuts, cherries and marshmallow. Service was efficient. Overall a good pre-theatre meal

House of Jack Rabbit

Bellarine

Alan dined on Sat, 20th May 2017 (8)

Spectacular views across Corio Bay and Port Phillip are matched by an interesting menu Sandwell presented delicious plates. As a vineyard cafe, it is restricted to its own wines (which are nonetheless quite appealing). It also offers local ciders from Flying Brick, but the craft beer is limited to two Prickly Moses brews - perhaps some of the good local breweries could also be represented. Overall a very pleasant al-fresco lunch on a beautiful autumn day.

Arkibar

South Melbourne

Alan dined on Thu, 11th May 2017 (9)

An excellent meal - the veal cutlet was fabulous and the barramundi very delicious. Hard to choose from but we liked the wide range of interesting specials and the potato and silver beet combination was quite a delicious difference. Also enjoyed the provolone fondante and the lemon curd tart. Service was very pleasant and efficient so that we got to the Malthouse in plenty of time for our show. A really good Italian meal.

Irish Murphy's

Geelong West

Alan dined on Fri, 5th May 2017 (8)

Good Irish pub grub

La Camera Southgate

Southbank

Alan dined on Mon, 24th Apr 2017 (8)

Very fast and efficient service. Good Italian food with a varied menu.

Ludlow Bar & Dining Room

Southbank

Alan dined on Wed, 5th Apr 2017 (8)

Good value lunch specials from the bar were simple, unpretentious and pleasing. Service was fast and efficient.

Taxi Kitchen

Melbourne CBD

Alan dined on Wed, 1st Mar 2017 (8)

Very well presented and tasty dishes with fast efficient service

Tutto Bene

Melbourne CBD

Alan dined on Tue, 7th Feb 2017 (8)

Fast, efficient and pleasant service with great food

Script Bar & Bistro

Southbank

Alan dined on Sat, 26th Nov 2016 (7)

Reasonable food with great pre-theatre service

Spanish Black Bull Tapas

Geelong

Alan dined on Fri, 18th Nov 2016 (9)

An excellent modern Spanish restaurant well worth visiting again and again.

Black Salt

Geelong

Alan dined on Mon, 7th Nov 2016 (9)

Excellently cooked and presented food of very high quality and quite distinctive cuisine. Tender and moist chicken, great pork belly and lovely lab followed by interesting and tasty desserts.

Darbar Indian Restaurant

Geelong

Alan dined on Fri, 14th Oct 2016 (5)

Run of the mill Indian restaurant - large helpings for openers, very nice coconut rice, mains average.

Customs House

Geelong

Alan dined on Thu, 6th Oct 2016 (8)

Pleasant atmosphere and interesting food

Ludlow Bar & Dining Room

Southbank

Alan dined on Wed, 28th Sep 2016 (3)

Limited and largely uninteresting menu but food cooked reasonably if somewhat plain. Good service.

Mojo Mama

Geelong

Alan dined on Thu, 15th Sep 2016 (7)

good Mexican food without the cheese overkill of most Tex-Mex places

Left Bank Melbourne

Southbank

Alan dined on Wed, 14th Sep 2016 (8)

Efficient and friendly service with enjoyable food

Zinc Restaurant & Lounge Bar

Port Douglas

Alan dined on Sun, 28th Aug 2016 (7)

Pleasant atmosphere and interesting (but not adventurous) food with reasonable service

Nu Nu Restaurant

Palm Cove

Alan dined on Fri, 26th Aug 2016 (9)

Elegantly presented; well matched flavours; excellent atmosphere and service

Taxi Kitchen

Melbourne CBD

Alan dined on Thu, 2nd Jun 2016 (8)

Efficient service, with interesting menu selections

Bokchoy Tang

Melbourne CBD

Alan dined on Fri, 1st Apr 2016 (6)

Good barramundi dish and the other dishes reasonable

Tutto Bene

Melbourne CBD

Alan dined on Fri, 4th Mar 2016 (8)

Efficient service with great risotto

La Camera Southgate

Southbank

Alan dined on Thu, 18th Feb 2016 (8)

Reasonable Italian for a reasonable price

Fishermen's Pier

Geelong

Alan dined on Wed, 13th Jan 2016 (9)

Best fish restaurant in Geelong